Barista bromance?

Written by:


Hi everyone and welcome once again to this weeks blog post. This is my last blog post as a 33-year-old as next Sunday I will be 34. I’m not freaking out too much as I will still be the right side of 35 and anyway I have a week to go before then. Anyway this week I will be discussing snow, my disillusionment with the Labour Party, my latest barista conversations, my impending birthday and feeling old. So let’s get started. 

Finally this week we have had snow for the first time this winter. It happened briefly one night during the week on ym way home and then again this morning when I woke up it was snowing heavy and I am sure I wasn’t the only person to sing ‘Do You Want To Build A Snowman?’. Sadly it has now melted but hopefully we will have some more soon. I would quite like some on my birthday.

I try not to go on too much about politics in my blog as I know it is not everyone’s thing but sometime I just need to have a little rant about it. I have always been a Labour supporter but over the last 12 months I have lost faith in them as a party. Some of the things that have made me feel like this are the Scottish Independence vote and the weak leadership Ed Miliband showed in the campaign and had to be saved by Gordon Brown who he never said thanks to, and has not asked for the Green Party to be included in the debates and calls David Cameron a coward for saying he won’t take part in the debates unless the Greens are involved. I know there are some very good MP’s for Labour but sadly they are not all in the shadow cabinet. I don’t find Ed Miliband a strong leader of the party which is a worry when he could be PM. I don’t believe he could do the job. He doesn’t seem to listen to the public anymore and certainly not his members. I don’t want another Tory government and certainly don’t want UKIP (they are the only party that make me worry about my safety if they got in to power). I don’t trust the Lib Dems and I am not sure there is a Green candidate where I live. I know the election is a few months off yet but for the first time I honestly don’t now what I will do. I am going to need a lot of convincing by May.

Regular readers of my blog will know that I am regular in Starbucks so much so that the staff in there know me very well with in Durham and Darlington. I have also started to learn a lot about some of the baristas. Not from asking anything but just from information they have freely given me. I think it is almost a bromance with one of them. I’m not sure bromance is the right word but it is the best way I can describe it so far. I know about his love life, where he is going on holiday, favourite drink,  favourite music, favourite TV shows and this week I learn he doesn’t like Star Wars. I didn’t know what to say to this. This could change things. I have looked past his interest in Power Rangers and The Simpsons but not like Star Wars is a different thing. He often tries to guess what type of thing I like such as he guessed my favourite drink is wine, was surprised I like football, shocked I didn’t like The Simpsons and was surprised I liked Star Wars. All from a few minutes each day when I buy my coffee. I haven’t had a follow on Twitter or a friend request on Facebook yet but you never know. Does this happen to anyone else with their morning coffee?

I mentioned at the start of my blog that it is my birthday next weekend and over the last week or so I have been bombarded with e-mail offers from companies with so-called birthday treats. They range from a free sundae to a glass of bubbly at a restaurant to a 2 for 1 deal at the cinema. I have had others with discounts when I spend a certain amount s well. The e-mails all say a birthday gift for you and I suppose they are but it would be more of a gift if they gave me a free meal instead of 20% off but I suppose it’s the thought/marketing tool that counts.

On a more serious note with regards my birthday I have been trying to fight off the birthday blues. I am still the right side of 35 but still I am feeling old. Lately I have been looking forward to going to bed so I can read and get some sleep and then wake up to Radio 2. When did this happen? I’m not passed it yet so have to stop feeling like I am. I haven’t planned anything for my birthday so it will be just a normal day really. I suppose turning 34 is a good time to try to do some of those things I need/want to do before I’m 35 such as move out so next weekend is the start of the countdown.

Well that is it for this week. Thanks for taking the time to read it and I will be back again next weekend but a little bit older. Take care and see you next week.

P.S. I am planning some special blog posts for the year. One of them I would like to do is a Q&A so if you have any questions you want me to answer then get in touch either my leaving a comment or through twitter/Facebook. Thanks.

 

Top Programme of the Week – Broadchurch

Top Song of the Week – Martha – So Sad (So Sad)

Book I Am Currently Reading – Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch 

Leave a comment

Latest Articles