Hi everyone!

It is that time of the week again where I let you know what has been happening in the world of Tim. If I had to sum this week up in one word it would be TIRING. This is due to lots on at work which is really good but I also need some time to rest and I just didn’t seem to find that last week so this weekend was about doing very little and having a sleep in. This sounds good but it did mean I didn’t go to a family christening today. I feel bad about it but I really did need the sleep. Hopefully this week won’t be as busy but I don’t hold much hope for that.

This week I have also had strange experiences on my train journey. The first was on Monday when I got winked at by a guy on the train.  This has never happened to me before. Mainly because very few people seem to be interested in  me  (now I know friends will say I’, being harsh on myself but come on you know its true as well) and also I am certainly not a pretty sight on a morning. I am also usually half  asleep as my coffee usually hasn’t taken effect by then.  So I was on the train and nearly about 5 minutes away from my stop I heard a cough (which was loud as I had my iPod in) I just glanced over and he nodded at me. Now this is always awkward on the train as the general rule is you never make contact with other train users.  I just then nodded and turned away looking out of the window. Thinking everything was ok. The thing is you see reflections in the mirror and he seemed to know this and then winked at me via the reflection. Now I was thinking ok I am not interested but at the same time was highly flattered. The train then pulled into the station and as I got off he smiled at me. Not sure I how I felt at that time but it was nice that someone had taken an interest in me even though I was certainly not interested.

The other strange experience on the train was towards the end of the week when I started thinking about other people on the train and what their lives were probably like. Now I know we probably all do this at some point. Maybe not a train but at work or in a bar or coffee shop. I find that when I do this I partly become jealous of their lives. I start wishing my life was like that. Especially if I see a couple. I also start thinking about my life and how I could change it as I seem to be drifting a lot at the moment. I blame the tiredness for all these thoughts.

This week the Booker Prize was announced. The winner was a bit of surprise it was ‘The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson”. Now as bookworm I always take an interest in the Booker Prize and I had not really taken paid much interest in this book. I certainly hadn’t read it or even heard of it really. I saw it on the list of contenders but the title and cover didn’t grab me. Now I know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover but lets be honest we all do and it is a big factor in how we choose books either in a shop or a library. As a result of it winning I have taken notice of it and have now purchased it and added it to my huge pile of books that I still have to read. When I get to read it I don’t know. I still have the winners of the Booker Prize from last 2 years still on my shelf  unread. Now I know this sounds bad but its because I love buying books. It cheers me up so when I feel low I buy books. As a result I have 71 books on my bookshelves that I still need to read (I must have been really fed up in the last 2 years).

I don’t usually discuss news items on my blog but this week I want to. This week the story that hit me was the one about the Chilean Miners being rescued. It was such a heart warming story and you would have to be very heartless not to be moved by this event. It is great news that they have all been rescued but what hit me was the fact that this good news story was the main news item in nearly every country in the world. Normally good news doesn’t make headlines. This time it did and it was good to see people enjoying such good news. We are all fed up of doom and gloom lets have more happy stories.

This week I have also been on the hunt for a decent scarf. With autumn well under way I need a new hat, gloves and scarf. They don’t have to match but I am looking for a scarf that is striped, and had reds, oranges, browns in it. I am also looking for a hat (think its called Peru style) but I don’t want one with tassles of bobble also ideally knitted style. If anyone knows where I can find any of these then tweet me or leave a comment.

So thats it for another week.

Top TV programme of the week : Strictly Come Dancing

Top song of the week: Cast of High School Musical: We’re All in This Together

Book I am currently reading: Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows by J.K.Rowling

