I want to start this weeks blog by saying thank you to everyone who has taken part in my poll from last week to decide on which book I will read next. The poll is still open so if you haven’t voted yet then view last weeks blog and vote.

Anyway on to this weeks events. Well the most exciting thing for me this week was a trip to Birmingham. The trip was with work as I was attending a conference called ‘To Infinity & Beyond – The future of enquiry desk services.’ Now I can imagine some of you reading this might not be interested in this but us library folk are a strange breed (some more stranger than others) and we do genuinely get excited about this sort of thing. This was actually a really good conference with some brilliant speakers and hopefully there will some ideas which my work can think about. From a personal point of view though I came away from the conference with more a more determined and positive outlook on my job. The last month or so has been personally difficult at work and its no lie that my confidence and morale had been low and if things had worked out then this week could have been totally different for me. Going to Birmingham this week though made me fall in love with my work again and made me realise I really need to get more serious with my career. While there I saw other people new to library work already ahead of me and I am just as good as they are so I need to push myself more. In terms of promotion that is partly out of my hands all I can do is apply. But in the meantime I need to get as much as much experience as possible so I am ready when opportunities do come along. One of the things I don’t do that I can easily do is to keep up to date with developments in library work. So I need to use social media more to keep up to date with developments and also discover industry blogs and sites as well as reading journals and books. I might have been knocked down but I am back on my feet and I am ready for the challenge.

The trip to Birmingham was also my first time visiting the city. As a child I had issues with Birmingham. Nothing bad just that I couldn’t actually say it. I had the same problem with Billingham. I think it was something to do with the B’s and the i’s and the ham. Anyway I am over this verbal dyslexia and can say both places. I have to say from what I saw it seemed ok as a city. Now I know all places have problems but my brief experience in Birmingham was a positive one. while there I went to Jamie’s Italian which apparently is the high street/chain of Jamie Oliver’s restaurants. I am now hoping the North East gets one as it was lovely food and just the same price really as other high street/chain restaurants but with really good service. So I am now a fan again of Jamie Oliver.

I also got my haircut this week which always makes me feel more upbeat. I think if you feel good then your self esteem is always high. Or maybe its just the amazing head massage that I get from my hairdresser, I know its not meant to be reason I go there but it is certainly worth it. I suppose I had better make the most of it as my hair seems to be receding so fast there will be soon nothing that anyone would be able to do with it.

Going back to the food theme, this week in Darlington the chef Simon Rimmer was doing a cooking demonstration in the Cornmill Shopping Centre. Now I enjoy watching the show ‘Something for the

Weekend’ where he is the resident chef so it was good to see him locally as it doesn’t usually happen. He seemed just the same as he is on the show and was talking to people before the demonstration. Sadly I didn’t get to try any of his food although it did look and smell good.

This week I also got around to watching Inception. This is one of those films that was huge last year but I didn’t go to see as it didn’t appeal. Then after talking to people and reading great reviews and it seemed to win loads of awards I decided to give it ago. I am so glad I did. It was a really good action film, yes it was confusing but that seems to be the norm at the moment with films. It was really well acted and the first time I have really watched anything with Tom Hardy in and was really impressed with his performance. I would certainly recommend the film.

Well thats it for another week and yes I seem to have made it through a whole blog in a positive mood. See anything is possible. So until next week bye for now.

Top TV programme of the week : Glee

Top song of the week: Cast of Shrek The Musical – This Is Our Story

Book I am currently reading: Tickling The English by Dara O’Briain

 

