Do you ever feel like a week lasts longer than 7 days? Well if you do then you know how I have been feeling all this week.

I suppose it is down to tiredness really. I need to rest more and I haven’t been doing that lately. Its not that I have a busy social life (anything but in fact), its just that I have had a lot on with work and going on in my personal life. Although I am better than I was regarding my personal life it has left me tired and this combined with a busy time at work means I am needed some major ‘me time’. Well at least I have planned some time off in a few weeks and and have also made some plans for this time. As you will find out.

At the start of the week the news was once again dominated by news of an Icelandic ash cloud. Last year this led to all flights in the UK being cancelled for a week which was quite an odd experience. This year there was only a little bit of disruption, but still there was complaints. I can’t understand this. Surely safety is the main concern and I although I am not a nervous flier I would rather have my flight cancelled than risk flying through a volcanic ash cloud. Theres not much we can do about it as we can’t control Mother Nature, and the sooner people realise this the better. (OK thats my rant over)

This week I (along with many others probably) bought Lady Gaga’s new album ‘Born This Way’. You can say what you want about her but she does do some good quality pop music. I wasn’t expecting a lot from this album as I thought it would be hard to live up to her debut album. However I was wrong. It is a great album with my standout songs being ‘Born This Way’, ‘Judas’, ‘The Edge of Glory’, ‘Scheiße’, and ‘Hair’. I would recommend it if you like early Madonna music i.e. ‘The Immaculate Collection’ as it has the same sound to it. Its interesting to think that Lady Gaga is a huge artist around the world but because most of the time she is wearing outrageous costumes I don’t think I know what she actually looks like. Not that this matters but it is interesting to think that ,really we know her for her music and her outrageous costumes instead of  her as person.

This weeks Glee was also another emotional rollercoaster, although not as bad as it could have been for me. I suppose because I am sorting myself out a bit more I was in a better place to deal with it. I know a lot of people dismiss the show but at least it is addressing everyday issues which sometimes we are a bit scared of looking at. On the subject of Glee, I have bitten the bullet and booked a ticket to see Glee Live. I told you at the start of the blog I had booked something. It is a lot of money which really I could used better but I would kick myself for missing out on the opportunity. After re-reading ‘Yes Man’ by Danny Wallace recently I realised that sometimes you just have to say yes and do it. Hopefully it will be an amazing night and of course I will let you know more about it in a future blog.

Sticking with the TV programmes this weeks Dr Who finally redeemed itself. Those of you who know me know I am a Dr Who fan but despite this the new series and most of the last series to be honest just hasn’t done it for me. This current series is trying to be too clever and I thought Steven Moffat was forgetting the true essence of the show. I take it all back this week after Saturdays episode. I’m not going to say what happens in case you haven’t watched it but I didn’t see that coming is all I say. Although my theory about River Song (see previous blogs) still stands. Sadly the series has a mid season/series break after next week typical. Still looking forward to it though.

I have also had my hair cut this week. Hardly news I know but I do like going especially if I am lucky enough to get the amazing head massage.I always think someone else is going to wash my hair and I won’t get it but I had nothing to worry about. I enjoy it more than I actually should I think. Anyway it makes me feel a bit better I suppose.

This week I have been quite reflective about my life. I’m not sure if this is because of tiredness or the time of year or because I have dealt with an issue I should have dealt with a long time go, or a combination of all of these things. Whatever the reason its how I have been feeling especially regarding University. It around this time that I finished University,  way back in 2002. I loved my time at uni although it wasn’t easy at first. University is a time when you learn a lot about yourself as person and this certainly true of me but I think I wasn’t ready for this in my first year and I made myself quite unhappy I suppose. I should have taken the opportunity then for a fresh start as thats what uni is about, but I didn’t I bottled things up and took it out on others. This meant I was a pain to be with especially in my first year and I have always felt awkward when thinking back to this time. This week I decided though I would try and get in touch with some I remembered from my first year in University via Facebook. It was only a little gesture but by some of them accepting it was good and I am glad to see they are doing well. If you are reading this then you know who you are and I hope you are all well and that you understand I am sorry if I was a pain that year. For the rest of my time at uni things were better although I had my moments. I suppose what I am trying to get at is the fact that we should all grab every opportunity as things don’t last. As Danny Wallace would say embrace the power of ‘Yes’.

Well thats it for another week. I hope I have got on my high horse too much and that you have enjoyed reading it. Please let me know any comments you have either on here or on Facebook or Twitter. So until next week bye for now.

 

Top TV programme of the week : Glee

Top song of the week: Glee Cast – Friday

Book I am currently reading: Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende

