Hi everyone,

For sometime now I have been debating whether to do a special book blog in addition to my normal weekly blog. I know many of you enjoy reading and discovering new books and also enjoy discussing them.

One of the most popular times for people to read is during the summer especially when on holiday. I have often had people say to me can you suggest any good books to read while I’m on holiday, but like most situations when put on the spot your mind goes blank.

So I have decided to compile a list of books (I do love a good list) that I have read and I think would be good holiday reads. There isn’t any books that you would call ‘chick lit’ as that is a genre I don’t read much of, although thats not to say its not good. I have split the list into fiction and non-fiction as I think its always good to try some non-fiction as well. The list is a great way to discover new books or even better rediscover some that you haven’t read since school.

FICTION

  • Tales from the Thousand and One Nights (Penguin Classics)
  • Mystery Man – Bateman
  • The Uncommon Reader – Alan Bennett
  • Guernica – Dave Bolling
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through The Looking Glass – Lewis Carroll
  • Jurassic Park – Michael Crichton
  • Danny the Champion of the World – Roald Dahl
  • The London Eye Mystery – Siobhan Dowd
  • Dead Famous – Ben Elton
  • The Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follett
  • The Constant Princess – Philippa Gregory
  • The Last Juror – John Grisham
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time – Mark Haddon
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns – Khaled Hosseini
  • Mister Pip – Lloyd Jones
  • The Jungle Book – Rudyard Kipling
  • The Constant Gardener – John Le Carre
  • To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  • The Horse and his Boy – C.S.Lewis
  • 44 Scotland Street – Alexander McCall Smith
  • Atonement – Ian McEwan
  • Black Swan Green – David Mitchell
  • The Secret Life of Bees – Sue Monk Kidd
  • Labyrinth – Kate Mosse
  • Five Children & It – E Nesbitt
  • One Day – David Nicholls
  • A long Time Ago and Essentially True – Brigid Pasulka
  • Seven Ancient Wonders – Matthew Reilly
  • Harry Potter series – J.K.Rowling
  • A Midsummer Nights Dream – William Shakespeare
  • The Secret History – Donna Tartt
  • Eleven – Mark Watson
  • Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  • The Line of Beauty – Alan Hollinghurst
  • King Solomans Mines – H Rider Haggard
  • Wide Sargasso Sea – Jean Rhys

Non Fiction

  • My Take – Gary Barlow
  • Anything Goes – John Barrowman
  • Shakespeare – Bill Bryson
  • Green Zone: Imperial Life in the Emerald City by Rajiv Chandrasekaran
  • Catch Me A Colobus – Gerald Durrell
  • Long Way Down – Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman
  • Pies and Prejudice – Stuart Maconie
  • Long Walk to Freedom – Nelson Mandella
  • Dreams From My Father – Barack Obama
  • Tickling the English – Dara O’Briain
  • MoonDust- Andrew Smith
  • Yes Man – Danny Wallace

I hope that you have found this list useful and please leave any comments you have about the books that you read.

My normal blog will still appear on Sunday so for regular readers there is no need to panic.

So for now…. Happy Reading!!!!!

