The very fact that I am writing this blog is a major achievement for me this weekend due to a major lack of energy. It’s not that I can’t be bothered with anything its just my body has realised I’m on holiday and has gone enough is enough so finding the energy to do anything at all over the last few days has been a challenge. It shows how tired I am because the last 2 nights I have slept either 12 and 10 hours straight, which is unlike me. I have had some time off since Christmas but not more than a long weekend so this the first time since Christmas that I have even had the chance to flop totally. Also regular readers of my blog will also know that I have had quite an intense 6 months and it looks like this has finally caught up with me. Now all you parents who are reading this are probably shouting ‘tiredness you don’t know what tiredness is until you children’, and yeah you probably are right and I do have total respect for you all especially if you feel how I have done lately.

The week started off OK for me although I was busy at work as I was only going to be in three days as I was going to Glee Live on Thursday. As I write this blog the beginning of the week seems ages ago now, almost a blur. It can’t have been too bad as I don’t remember ranting too much.

On my way to work this week though I did see/hear a guy on the other side of the road singing at the top of his voice on his way some where. It is a danger all IPod users have, refraining from singing out loud to certain songs when they come on. I usually mouth the words but don’t sing out loud. Mainly because I can’t sing and also some lyrics are not appropriate to sing in public places e.g. ‘lets get physical’, ‘touch a touch a touch a me’ I am sure you can all think of more. Anyway back tot he singing  guy , he obviously didn’t care about these factors although he was in tune. Now I couldn’t work out what he was singing but he seemed very happy and it made me smile. Sadly others around just though he was stupid and laughed and pointed at him. He was too engrossed in his singing to see so it didn’t matter to him but I thought this reaction from others was harsh. He wasn’t doing anything wrong, he wasn’t being offensive, he was just happy. so if you ever see anyone just being really happy and singing out loud then don’t laugh and point just be glad someone is having a good day and surely everyone deserves that.

This week at work one break time we ended up having a debate about which was better? He-Man or She-Ra. The result seemed to be more She-Ra because there were far more girls involved in the debate and arguments for She-Ra included (and these are what girls said) ‘Girls are better than boys’, ‘Her outfit was much better’. The arguments for He-Man were ‘Battlecat is much better than some silly pony’ ‘He-Man without a doubt’. So while this debate goes on I thought I would do a poll to find out once and for all. So please take part. I will declare the winner in next weeks blog. We also had a debate over which turtle was better but I’ll leave that until next week.

The highlight of the week though has been Glee Live. Now for regular readers you will know I am fan of Glee so I was very excited about the prospect of going to see them live. Sadly the closest place they were performing was in Manchester. Now the only time I have been to Manchester was to the airport so that doesn’t really count. So this my first proper visit to the city. I was quite impressed with the little bit I saw. however I wasn’t there for the sights I was there for Glee. As I had booked my tickets only a few weeks ago I was concerned I would hardly see anything. it turned out I had nothing to worry about. Although I was at the side I could see very clearly. I could also see just backstage so I got glimpse of them before they came out to perform. Whenever you go to see an artist you love you always worry that they will not have that special magic. The cast of Glee however did deliver. They remained in character and had lots of interaction with the audience, although they did look their actual age especially the guys who had stubble but hey thats fine. What I was surprised at was the that show didn’t centre around Rachel (Lea Michelle) because the TV show does. Because of this others could shine especially Mercedes (Amber Riley). Those of you who have watched the show will know she is a great singer, but when you see her live she is even more amazing. The support act for Glee was a dance group called LXD (The Legion of Extraordinary Dancers). The style of dance was Street dance and they were good but in my opinion no better than many of the acts we have over here such as Diversity. Here is the set list for Glee Live:

  • Don’t Stop Believing
  • Dog Days are Over
  • Sing
  • Slave 4 U
  • Fat Bottomed Girls
  • I Want to Hold your Hand
  • Ain’t no Way
  • Pretty Young Thing
  • Born This Way
  • Firework
  • Teenage Dream
  • Silly Love Songs
  • Raise Your Glass
  • Happy Days/Get Happy
  • Lucky –
  • River Deep, Mountain High
  • SKIT

    – (Blaine, Kurt & Brittany)

  • Jessie’s Girl – Corey Monteith
  • Valerie – Naya Rivera
  • Loser Like Me
  • Single Ladies dance
  • Safety Dance
  • Empire State of Mind
  • Somebody to Love

They did get through a lot of songs but it did finish fairly early i.e just before 10pm and when I compared the set list to the USA leg it seemed to be missing two songs. they ere ‘Don’t Rain On My Parade’ and ‘Friday’. So if anything this is my only criticism of the show. The thing I was surprised at was the biggest support seemed to be for Blaine (Darren Criss) and the Warblers. The girl in front of me nearly passed out when they came on. She luckily was OK and didn’t pass out but it was quite a scary sight. Overall it was great concert and I was glad I had gone.

It was Midsummers Day on Friday and normally on my blog at this time I review my New Years resolutions so far. Because this blog is quite long and I don’t want to bore you all too much I will do my Midsummer review during the week. It will give me something to do while I am off.

I hope I manage to get through the week OK as normally when I am off it is when my anxiety is normally worse and things play on my mind , I think they already have. I am my own worst enemy. Anyway until later on its bye for now.

Top TV programme of the week : Case Histories

Top song of the week: Glee Cast – Ain’t No Way

Book I am currently reading: Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie

