This week has been a long, tough, tiring week. Work has been hectic as usual and I have also stepped up my training for the Great North Run. I also spent the beginning of the week like most decent people getting angry the news events this week. Hopefully it is all over now and normality can start again.

Over the last few weeks I have been surrounded by people who have caught the knitting bug. you may laugh but it is starting to reach epidemic proportions. You may recall before Christmas a similar outbreak occurred which claimed many people. It looks like just as many will fall this time. I have likened it to a zombie movie where one by one the main characters get picked off. I am confident I will make it thru unstitched but I am not sure how many others will. I can your moans as I type this. “Whats wrong with knitting?” . The answer of course is nothing it is a popular hobby but I am totally surrounded. So I urge you all to be vigilant and protect yourselves from this latest outbreak. Here are the signs to watch out for.

1) They will start carrying around some sort of reusable bag often linen and associated usually with a charity or an organization. This will be full of wool.

2)You very rarely find a lone knitter. Where there’s one more others will be close behind. So If corned you must have an emergency exit plan or sit at a distance.

3)They will start speaking in a strange language. Common words or phrases you may here are “knit one”, “pearl”, “casting on”.

4)The most experienced ones can knit and still engage in a full conversation. If this happens be on your guard this how they claim their next victim.

5)They will usually be knitting either a square or a very small hat.

6)This current outbreak appears to affect people aged between 20 and 45. Although it appears to largely affect women some men have developed symptoms.

7)They will start posting pictures of their work on Facebook.

8)The more miserable the weather the more people start to develop symptoms

I hope this information helps you and protects you from this latest outbreak. As of yet there is no known cure so take care.

As I mentioned at the start of this blog I have stepped up my Great North Run training. This partly because I realised how soon it was. Just over a month and I also received my running pack which included my number. I think just seeing this and reading the information has made me realise it is real and official. So with that in mind I have left the gym and been running outside. This is the best thing to do because this is what I will be doing in the actual race. However it is much harder running outside compared to the gym. I have so far done a couple of 3 mile runs. Obviously I have a lot more to do but I do now start to believe it is possible as long as my legs forgive me and start talking to me again. My mum said to me “it will be fine, it is just a fun run”. I quickly assured her it has never been referred to as a fun run and those two words should never go together. At the end of the day it is a half marathon and not the chocolate variety, there is nothing fun about that. Hopefully by the time the 18th September comes along I will be able to successfully complete the race. I am not bothered about what time I do it in, I don’t need to be selected for the London Olympics. I just want to be able to say I’ve done it.

When I started thinking about where I could go running outside I wondered where the best place near by would be. Yes I could run around the streets but I am bit self-conscious. There are a lot of running groups which are a good idea but I think I would still be intimidated. So I opted for my local park. I haven’t been to my local park since I was a child and a lot of work has been done on it. I was really surprised how great it was and I wish I had been earlier. I now have an established route for running and although it is more difficult than the gym it is certainly a much more pleasant environment. I think even after all the running is over I will try to visit more often because it will be a great place just to clear my head sometimes, there’s even a tea room. What more can you ask for?

Well once again that is another blog over with. Thanks for taking the time to read and I’ll be back again next week.

Top TV programme of the week : BBC News

Top song of the week: Jermaine Stewart – We Don’t Have To Take Our Clothes Off

Book I am currently reading: The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

