Wow another week over and hopefully by this time next week I will have successfully finished the Great North Run. It is very scary how close it is now and I hope I can make it to the end safely. I do feel a bit happier about it as this week I finally broke through the 10 mile barrier in my training. It was tough to do but it has given me a boost although I now understand why at this point in the race they have supplies of jelly babies and vaseline. This week the organisers advise not to do much and concentrate on building up on your carbs. Many people ask what time do I hope to complete the race. Well I am not bothered about my time as long as I complete it before the roads are all open. I am also trying to finalise my running playlist. If anyone has any suggestions then let me know. don’t go for the obvious ones about running. They don’t do anything for me. I need songs that a motivational and upbeat. The best ones I have so far is Rihanna’s S & M and also Kylie with Get Outta My Way.

This week has really felt like autumn. It is my favourite season. I love the colour, the smell (although not the muck spreading smell that has been around the town this week), and the idea that it is like a restart for the year. I suppose I think this because it is the time you start school or uni and this is a feeling I have not lost. As I have now finished my two weeks holiday it is that same feeling I have this week about going back to work although I predict a very busy week. I have also bought some new clothes for the cold months ahead and have got a new scarf. Those of you who have stuck with my blog may remember that I had a difficult time finding a new scarf last year. Well I started my search early this year and found a decent one. So hopefully I am ready for the bad weather. I am also looking forward to getting back into my routine and catching up people.

As much as I love autumn I don ‘t think that we really appreciate it here in the UK. In America they love this time of the year. They even have a better name for it ‘the Fall’.  Quite a few years ago I was over in Florida and that was when I realised what a big deal this time of the year is there, especially the closer you get to Halloween. While at a Starbucks over there I discovered an amazing autumn coffee drink call a Pumpkin Spice Latte. It was amazing and was autumn or as they call it the fall in a mug. Sadly this drink has not made it over to the UK. Why I don’t know but it hasn’t but there is campaign on Facebook so maybe one day. However Starbucks in the UK have launched some autumn ranges in their drink range this week, and I unusually left my Mocha for the new Creme Brule Macchiato.

It is very good but not as good as the Pumpkin Spice Latte. This time of year also usually turns out to be quite a busy time for me usually both professionally and personally and this year is probably going to be the same.

This week I also got my hair cut. Now it isn’t really that long since the last time but it was starting to get long and I thought shorter hair would be better for the run. You may remember that after going last time I was spotted by my hairdresser with my hair looking a mess after coming out of the gym. I felt the shame then and was worried (quite selfishly) that I would not get the amazing head massage. He either didn’t care or had forgotten as I did get the head massage so that panic is over.

Well that is it for this week. Hopefully I will speak to next week.

Top TV programme of the week : Strictly Come Dancing

Top song of the week: Maroon 5 – Moves Like Jagger

Book I am currently reading: White Oleander by Janet Fitch

