Hi everyone! At the end of last weeks blog I said I hoped this week would be a better week. Well it has actually been a better week. That’s not to say it hasn’t had the odd stressful moment.

For the first half of this week I was involved in a 3 day workshop for work. This is first time I have been involved in this type of thing and I have found it really useful and went back to the office feeling really energised. The 3 days basically involved talking and the most amounts of post it notes that I have ever seen. I did a quick calculation and I reckon there were over 200 post it notes used. They were all along one wall of the room on brown paper. It was like a low-budget version of CSI. Well that’s librarians for you. We do love our stationary hence why it is essential for most librarians to have had a toy post office as a child.

This week I went to the cinema to see Twilight Breaking Dawn part 1. Now I have to admit I am not a massive Twilight fan but I do find them watchable and the books easy to read. I also have a tendency to laugh out loud at the films usually in places I shouldn’t. I will admit I wasn’t expecting much from the film due to most of the casts lack of acting ability (lets face it apart from Robert Pattinson most of the cast got the roles for their looks, a bit like Hollyoaks but on a bigger scale) and very little plot. This was all true but it was still watchable and a lot better than Eclipse. I realised after going to the cinema this week that I have only been to the cinema 4 times this year, this is very poor and I must do something about it. Just think I even studied film studies while at uni that’s like an English Lit student never reading a book again. I need to add more cinema visits to my ever-growing list of New Years Resolutions for next year.

New Years Resolutions already I hear you say. Yeah that’s right I am already starting to think about my New Years Resolutions for next year. Essentially I need to build on this years achievements. I have even got a new diary in preparation for this. It includes tips on how to make the most out of different weeks and months. Hopefully 2012 with my ultimate year. I will talk more about all of these plans on January 1st.

This week I have spent some quality time with friends. This first involved the cinema (as I have mentioned) followed by some food and a good gossip. I think the good gossip was the most useful thing. This is the best way to feel better. In fact I think the NHS should prescribe this. Anyway we all had a good time and it was good to be quite open and have a laugh as we haven’t done it for a long time.

This week I have also embraced all things Christmas. I have put all my Christmas music onto my iPod and have made good progress with my Christmas shopping. It was also the annual Christmas Fayre in Durham. Last year I didn’t get a proper chance to experience it in full due to the snow we had. This year me and some friends from work did our usual trip to the fayre including singing Christmas Carols in the Cathedral. If this doesn’t put someone in the Christmas spirit then I don’t know what would.  It was also a great excuse (not that I need one) to visit the Cathedral. It doesn’t matter whether you are religious or not, I can’t imagine anyone not falling in love with such a building. Once again though it was just good to spend some time with friends while singing out loud and drinking ginger wine and mulled wine. After all it is what Christmas is for, spending time with friends and family.

In last weeks blog I did a poll to find out what people’s favourite toy was from their childhood. The clear winner was LEGO. It proves that even the most simplest of toy is the one we cherish the most and if I’m honest you are never too old for LEGO. In 2nd place it was Star Wars and in joint 3rd place it was My Little Pony and the board game Guess Who.  Thanks to everyone who took part.

Well once again that is it for this week.

Top TV programme of the week : Merlin

Top song of the week: Michael Buble – It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas

Book I am currently reading: Jamrach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch

