Yep it is that time of year again where we all feel a bit flat and fat. All signs of Christmas have gone and the only thing we have to show for it is a larger belly and a fight with those trousers that before Christmas just fit and now are a bit of struggle to put on for work in the morning.  January is always the same ,but this year it really has hit me. I haven’t planned anything yet for the year, I’m not happy with my appearance I am just generally a bit deflated (well mood wise I am).  Looking back to last January I did feel a bit more upbeat as I decided it was going to be my year. This attitude worked and last year was a big year for me as a result. This year though is more difficult as it is stage 2. To put it into context if my life were a music album (cheesy pop) then last year was my breakthrough record-breaking album. This year however it is more that ‘difficult second album’. I just hope my second album is more Adele ’21’ rather than Duffy ‘Endlessly’ (yeah I didn’t realise she had done a second album either). We will just have to wait and see I suppose.

I have tried to start the year off on a positive foot by having breakfast. On a morning I don’t always eat breakfast, I have coffee but that is it. I don’t usually eat anything. Now I know breakfast is the most important meal of the day but I don’t usually eat anything. This is because a)I don’t always have time and b)it sometimes makes me sick. So I usually just leave it and snack during the day (I would like to say it was healthy but there is no way I can make Percy Pigs count as one of my five a day) or not eat until lunch. This is not good and I have decided that this year I am going to make a big effort to have breakfast and so far I have done this. I do have to admit that I do feel better for having breakfast so I will keep at it.

This week was also the return to work for me after the Christmas break and this of course means delays on the trains due to weather problems. With out fail I can guarantee that at some point in the first week back at work in January my train will be delayed due to adverse weather conditions. It happened on Wednesday night on the way home. After arriving at the train station it became quickly apparent that there was a problem as the departure board was just showing the current time for the departure of the next train. As I looked up the track I could see two trains just waiting outside of the station. It turned out that there was a safety issue with the track south of the station and they were working on it. North bound trains were fine it was just the south bound trains. After a while then announcer said that the delayed train would now depart from the opposite platform. Now to get there this requires going out of the station and under the underpass. So we all quickly run along and make our way to the other side. No sooner are we all over when the announcer says ‘I’m sorry to announce that the delayed train will not be arriving in on platform one, instead it will arrive at its orignal platform.’ There is a collected curse/expletive from all the commuters as we quickly dash back over to the other platform much to the amusement of a large number of Newcastle fans (well something has to amuse them – only joking). We do all make the train and are just glad to be on our way home. Ahhh the joys of commuting.

My only socializing this week has been a friend’s birthday meal (yep the many January birthdays have started) which was really nice and has made me realise I need to start thinking about what I want to do for my mine in a few weeks time, so I had better get my thinking cap on.

In other news this week Starbucks have officially stopped the Gingerbread Latte, although it is still available as long as there is still the syrup in store. However they have launched a new coffee and I thought it would be rude not to try it. It is a Vanilla Spice Latte. It is actually quite nice but not on the same level as a Gingerbread Latte. I’ll still have it again though.

Well that is it for me this week. I will blog again next weekend.

Top TV programme of the week : The Story of Musicals

Top song of the week: Jay Sean – 2012 (It Ain’t The End)

Book I am currently reading: Dune by Frank Herbert

