This week I have potentially found a new hobby. Over the last few months I have been thinking about starting a new hobby. I first looked at local amateur dramatic groups but they all mainly focus on musicals and as I have mentioned before I can’t sing so this is not an option. Those groups that are around that just do dram just don’t appeal so for now I will have to leave this idea for the moment. However this week my interest in astronomy has been reawakened thanks to the TV programme Stargazing Live. Now I have always been interested in astronomy but have never really done anything about it. The whole idea of space totally fascinates me and  is something I would like to get more involved in. So I am going to have a look at doing this. I have a really useful app on my phone which identifies planets and stars so I just need a telescope and a flask of tea and I’m sorted. My aim is to be the next Brian Cox (OK that ain’t going to happen but I can at least try to be as excited as he is about this stuff).

As well as wanting to stare into space this week, I have also been staring into the past with old photo’s. This is something that must happen the older you get (I suppose it makes sense as the older you are the more of a past you have). So after last weeks big tidy up from under the bed I found some old photos. As great as photos are I do worry they will get lost totally so the other day I got my mum’s scanner talking to my MacBook and scanned some old photo’s. When some of my friends saw them it just got them all talking about things we all did and it was nice to know that we all had good memories of our younger days. I am realising that I am sounding very old and I need to find that trendy 30 (in a few days 31 ….gulp!) year old and not that ginger, spotty guy I was in one those pictures I found.

As I turn 31 this week I realise that my first year of my thirties wasn’t that bad and in fact was one of the best years of my life. My challenge though is to keep the momentum running and make the next few years just as good.  So goodbye ‘thirtylicious’ and hello ‘flirty one’. I know that sounds cheesy but I do need to get out more and flirt. To do this though relies on me going out and I am going out in a few weeks time for some birthday celebrations. Not as big a deal as last year but just food and drinks. I did think about going out to Newcastle but the prices now to stay over on a Saturday night are ridiculous and that’s just a Travelodge. I may look into doing something though sometime soon as I am getting itchy feet for a big night out in the toon.

Well that is it for this week. I will blog again next week so until it is bye for now.

Top TV programme of the week : Stargazing Live

Top song of the week: Jessie J – Domino

Book I am currently reading: David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

