Hello! Or should that be Bonjour!

No I haven’t totally lost the plot. It is because for some reason last weeks blog was very popular in France so I welcome all my French followers. I would of course attempt to write my blog in French however I didn’t do French at GCSE level as I was worried I would get the scary French teacher so I went for German and instead got the weird German teacher. The more I come to think of it most Modern Language teachers are a bit odd  generally. In fact the term Modern Languages is strange as well. French, German and Spanish (if you went to a posh enough school you did Spanish, which I didn’t) are not exactly modern languages. They have surely been around just as long as English. Maybe in French schools English a Modern Language. Any of my French readers can you please let me know if this is the case. Anyway welcome to all of you reading this blog wherever you are.

This week has been a bit of an odd week because of the Bank Holiday. It always happens doesn’t it. We have a Bank holiday and we suddenly get totally disoriented and don’t know what day of the week it is. You would think such a simple thing would  be easy for us all to deal with but obviously not. Anyway if we struggled with this Bank Holiday wait until the Jubilee Bank Holiday which is 4 days long. That will really confuse us all.

I realised this week that I haven’t used Twitter as much. This isn’t because I’m sick of it. I still like it as much I just don’t seem to tweet as much for some reason. Maybe it’s because the time I would use to tweet I am now using Drawsomething. It is interesting to see how Social Network sites have become an everyday task/routine for most people. I think this is for a number of reasons. Firstly we like to share our experiences with other people. If something odd has happened on your way to work it is natural you want to tell someone so Twitter or Facebook is a great place for that, or if you have just read a good book or seen a great film you want to talk to other people about it. The other reason I think we all like to use these sites is because when it comes down to it we are all just nosy. Some of you may disagree but it is true. We want to know what other people are doing now. Before Facebook came along people put themselves through school reunions which were usually only held because everyone was curious to see what everyone was up to. The down side was you had to see people you never liked. Since Facebook arrived you are able to find out what the hot guy/girl from school is up to now and if that person you hated wants to add you as a friend then just decline the invite. So to all of you on Facebook who I have added I have only done it because I do like you. However when it comes to Twitter that is more about meeting new people rather than keeping in touch with long-lost friends. One of the downsides I have with Social Media sites such as Twitter and Facebook is finding out that actually other people are having an amazing time. This could be just some cute remark about being in love or an amazing holiday or new job etc. It is not that I think they don’t deserve it as they certainly do but it is like looking in the mirror and seeing a reflection that you are not happy with. Overall though they are a great idea and they do bring people together who otherwise would have lost touch. So I will keep using them and will try to tweet more.

Lately I have been feeling that the reflection I see is not something I am happy with. It’s not  a bad reflection it’s just that I know I could do a lot more to improve things in my life. I’m not blaming anyone but me and I do have to make an effort and make things happen for me. I need to get out and meet new people and try new things. I also need to push myself more professionally. I do a job that I absolutely love. I do have bad days but we all do. But at the end of the day I enjoy what I do. However I do feel I need to push myself more. I want to keep working in libraries but I want to try new areas and develop new skills. A big downside I have is I don’t have a library qualification. It’s not that I don’t want to do one but the cost involved is huge and I am not in the position to do that at the moment. Another thing I need to do is look at joining some official library organisations but I am not sure if there are benefits to this or not. Any librarians reading this let me know. This has been on my mind a lot recently as I see other people taking chances and risks and starting new careers and opportunities. I need to get myself in to a position where I can do these things and start to get taking seriously rather than for granted. All suggestions are welcome.

I am going to end my blog with an appeal to all geeks and nerds. I am quite exited about the upcoming film Avengers Assemble. I do plan on going to see it. However I haven’t watched many of the other Marvel Hero films that are connected to this film. I have seen Thor but have yet to watch any of the Iron Man films, Captain America, or the Incredible Hulk. I am not going to watch the Incredible hulk as I am still scared of the 1970’s/80’s TV series. To this day it scares the pants of me. Anyway what I am getting at is which of these films would people say are crucial for me to have watched before seeing Avengers Assemble. Please let me know with a comment or a message on Twitter or Facebook.

Thanks again for reading this weeks blog so until then its goodbye or should I say Au revoir!

 

Celeb Spot: Mitchel Claydon (Durham County Cricket Player) in Starbucks Durham

Top TV programme of the week : The Apprentice

Top song of the week: Carly Rae Jepsen – Call Me Maybe

Book I am currently reading: Burning Bright by Tracy Chevalier

