As I promised yesterday here is this weeks blog. The other one was my annual mid year review on how my resolutions are going. This week has gone very quickly and here are some of the things that have happened in my life in the last seven days.
I had to request a new pin number the other week for my card and it arrived this week and it was such a struggle to read the thing. I understand that it has to be secure but I should at least be able to read it. It was almost like a magic eye puzzle trying to work out what it was. I’ve never been good at these. Anyway after a while I managed to get it and everything is ok now.
This week I received an e-mail from Starbucks telling me about their new scheme they are launching. Essentially I can set up a direct debit to my Starbucks card. How mad is that? I know I like my coffee but I honestly don’t drink that much. I only have two cups of coffee a day one at home and one on the way to work. I think of direct debits for big things such as bills etc but not coffee. I don’t think I will do it but I suppose some people may find it useful.
This week the weather has been miserable and on Thursday evening there was massive storm in the region. It started around home time and I was quickly trying to make it to the station before the rain and thunder started. What I didn’t realise is that while I was doing this Newcastle was being hit very badly. I got a train and then found out that it was the last train to leave southbound. I was very lucky to get it. I know lots of people who had very long and quite scary journeys home thankfully there were all ok.
After all the debating I have finally bought a copy of Fifty Shades Of Grey. I am not expecting much from it but I curious about the whole hype surrounding it. A lot of people say proper readers shouldn’t read it, it is badly written etc. However it is the fastest selling book this year and sometimes you don’t want high brow books you just want something easy to read, especially in the summer. It is of course not the type of book I would suggest for my book club but at the end of the day if it gets people reading then that is only a good thing. A lot of people dismiss Mills & Boon but you ask any public librarian and they will tell you how popular they are. These books are not brilliantly written but they do get people reading and that in my eyes is a good thing. I know from y own experience that you go through patches where it is a struggle to read some books and to get back in the swing of reading you need some easy reads and Fifty Shades Of Grey is one of those. I haven’t started it yet but when I do and finish it I will let you know what I think.
I think that is it for this week. I am trying not to be to self pitying and whingy as the last few blogs have been like this.
So until next week that’s a wrap.
Top TV programme of the week : Once Upon A Time
 
Top song of the week: Cast of Smash – The 20th Century Fox Mambo
 
Book I am currently reading: Stephen Fry In America by Stephen Fry
