This weeks blog is on time this week. I haven’t been up to much just work really but anyway here is what has been on my mind or what I have been up to this week.

The week has been a bit of a blur really as it has gone so quick. I have been busy with work and when I get home I’m just tired and do much. I could with a break. I have a long weekend this weekend and next which should be good but I think this weekend won’t be as restful as I would like for various reasons. Hopefully the week after will be. I haven’t planned any more time off but I think will have to do it soon as I need some time for myself again.

This week saw the start of the Olympics in London. Seven years after we won the bid it is finally here. I wasn’t sure what to expect from the Opening Ceremony. I knew about the countryside theme and it would feature cultural aspects of Britain but that was it. I was amazed by what I saw though. I liked the use of Shakespeare, the children’s literature section was brilliant and of course the James Bond and HM the Queen was a work of genius. I’m sure I wasn’t the only one watching thinking ‘no it will be a lookalike’ but no the sequence in the palace was her and it was just great for her to deliver the line “Good Evening Mr Bond”. If someone told me at the start of the week I would see the Queen as a Bond Girl I wouldn’t have believed them, but Danny Boyle made it happen. The rest of the ceremony was good and I loved the lighting of the cauldron. It is the highlight of the Opening Ceremony and I think the way the cauldron was designed this time was great and it was very emotional to watch the Olympic Greats pass the torches over to the new generation. Lets hope the rest of the Games are just as successful and that Team GB do well.

Since the Games started I have tried to watch as much as I can and this is also why I have some long weekends so that I can see as much as I can. I have watched some of the archery, swimming, gymnastics, cycling road race and the football. I would love to have seen some of it first hand but sadly it wasn’t to be but I will hopefully see quite a bit of it on the TV.

Well that’s it for this week really. Just a short one but I suppose that is what happens when last weeks blog was late.  Hopefully this week will be a bit more interesting. Anyway until then its bye for now.

 

Top TV programme of the week : Olympic Opening Ceremony

Top song of the week: This Is The Moment
 
Book I am currently reading: Three Men In A Boat by Jerome K. Jerome
