Hi everyone, I hope your Christmas preparations are going well. Mine is going OK but I still have some shopping to do and lots of wrapping. Luckily I’m off on holiday from work after Monday so I should hopefully get some more things done this week. Anyway here is what I have been up to or have been on my mind in the last week.

This week in the news the Government announced their plans for Gay marriage in the UK. at the moment same-sex couples can only have a civil partnership. The proposals that were announced this week will allow marriages to take place in some religious buildings as long as that Faith is opts in to the scheme. Sadly the exception to this will be the Church of England and the Church of Wales where and I quote the legislation will “be illegal”, this led to some newspapers to have cruel headlines such as “Gays jilted at the altar” which is something I don’t want to read thank you very much. I know overall this proposal (as long it is passed) is progress but to see the main religious institution in this country have such opposition is sad and the language used is hurtful. I’m not a deeply religious person but I do believe in some sort of Faith, and this rhetoric has really shook my belief. I can’t imagine how somebody who is deeply religious and worships regularly must be feeling. To me the idea of marriage is two people standing in front of those who matter to them declaring their love for each other. In my eyes this is not a religious ceremony in the first instance, it is a ceremony of love. For those who are deeply religious it is of coarse right that they can have this service in front of their God as well as friends and family. I think the Church of England and Wales needs to move with the times and allow change. I think they should have allowed individual parishes to choose whether they conducted same-sex weddings. After all they know the community they are in and have a duty to care and support all in this community. As I have already said  I know it is still progress but it’s not as much as it should/could have been. Being a gay man I know exclusion is something I have to face in some aspects of my life and that rejection by either people, organizations or institutions is something I still have to deal with. If I’m lucky enough to meet the love of my life and decide to make a commitment of marriage it will be in some place where I am accepted and welcomed.

OK enough of my little rant. Back to Christmas festivities. I have really been trying to get into the Christmas spirit. One of the things I have been doing is listening to Christmas music on my iPod. I have realised that certain artists are only acceptable at Christmas time. These include Cliff Richard, Mariah Carey, Paul McCartney, and Shakin’ Stevens. Some people also think Michael Buble should be in this list but I disagree. Michael Buble is for all year not just for Christmas. Let me know which artists you think are only acceptable at Christmas.

At work I have also tried to get into the Christmas spirit. My desk has Christmas decorations on and this week it was also the staff Christmas party. I had a really good time at the Christmas party and was a nice way to end the day especially after having a bad day. Its amazing what a glass of wine, good company and dance can do for your mood. I do like a bit of a dance even if it is more a shuffle than actual dancing. I did find myself really getting into Whitney Houston’s ‘I Wanna Dance With Somebody’, what can I say I’m an 80’s child. I did avoid doing Gangnam Style though despite my colleagues best efforts to keep me on the dance floor. I realise looking back at the night that most of the songs I danced to were quite typical for a gay man. They were Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Whitney, Scissor Sisters, and Deniece Williams. There were some exceptions but generally I opted for camp/cheesy pop.

The next day at work the Christmas festivities continued with Christmas Jumper day. This involved staff wearing Christmas jumpers to work to raise money for Save The Children. It was great fun and helped a great cause and we all looked like we had stepped out of some cheesy American Christmas/Holiday special. It also coincided with the our Secret Santa day which was just an added bonus to the Christmas festivities.

Well that’s it for this week. I will be back next week with my last blog before Christmas. So until then bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Merlin

Top Song of the Week – Cast of Billy Elliot – Merry Christmas Maggie Thatcher

Book I Am Currently Reading – The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

