Hi everyone and welcome to my first proper weekly blog of 2013. I say proper blog post because I have been dong a lot of blog posts in the last week but they have all been about the New Year and reviewing 2012. I hope you have enjoyed reading them. Anyway here is what I have been up to this week.

As I have already said I have done quite a few posts on my blog during the week. They have been about looking at how 2012 was for me and looking ahead to the next 12 months. Overall 2012 wasn’t a bad year it was more mediocre. After quite an intense 2011 I suppose I needed a slower 2012 but at the time I didn’t realise that and expected the momentum to still be there. I think it was this feeling that led to me feeling disappointed and then that made me feel frustrated with myself. I didn’t stop to realise I needed a slower pace for a bit. It was a year for slowing down and taking stock of things and sorting stuff out ready for the next chapter and I feel that the new chapter is 2013. I need to be open to new opportunities and start saying yes and more importantly actually following through when I say yes. Only then will my resolutions stand a chance of getting done.

This week also get back into the daily routine which is nice actually as you lose track of days and time over the Christmas break. The morning commute has been ok as well in fact it has been fairly quiet probably helped by a lot of people still not back at work. I made the most of the quietness as it won’t be like that next week. It’s also nice to go back to work and catch up with friends and colleagues. Although with social media such as Twitter and Facebook you never really miss out on things. Although it depends on the person as different people use social media more than others. Maybe I use it a lot especially as I blog but even then I keep some things back. I only discuss things when I’m ready to.

Talking of Twitter I had that awkward moment when someone recognised me in town from Twitter. I was in a shop buying something and he said ‘I know you from Twitter, I saw your LEGO project’ (that is not an euphemism). It really threw me and I said ‘oh yeah I think you do’. We then had a little chat and then I went. I was surprised at how awkward I felt in that situation. It is not the first time it has happened and I always find it a bit odd. However the more I think about it ,it’s odd that I find it odd if that makes sense. Twitter is a social network site, it’s about meeting new people and those people exist so why should it be odd to say ‘hi’ if you see them in the street. There are people I follow on Twitter and tweet often who I have seen around town but have refrained from saying hi if I have passed them in the street. Obviously you have to be sensible but if they are genuine then what’s wrong with saying hi. I know I have spoken of the ‘golden rule of commuting’ where you don’t speak to each other but maybe we should be more friendly. There is a guy at the station who says hi to me and others and he also says hi if he see’s me around town. He is just being friendly but I’m too awkward to be friendly it seems. So this week I’m going to see what happens. If any of my Twitter followers  see me say hi and if I see you I will also say hi. It’s just being friendly after all. I’m not asking you out on a date it’s just hi. What do other people think of this? Has this happened to you? Let me know I’m interested in how others have reacted to this.

This weekend I seem to have regressed back to my childhood. First of all the CITV channel is celebrating 30 years of children’s TV and has been showing all old TV programmes from my childhood. These include Fraggle Rock, Super Gran, The Raggy Dolls, Puddle Lane, Button Moon, and my favourite Knightmare. It has been great re-watching them again especially Knightmare. I always wanted to go on that show but I was too young at the time. Ah happy days. As well as watching TV shows from my childhood I also made the LEGO set that I got at Christmas. I think it is good at times to remember your childhood. Maybe I’m only thinking this because it’s my birthday this month. Anyway whatever it is I have had a nice weekend.Lord of the Rings Lego set complete

 

Well that is it for this week. I’m back to just the weekly blog posts so I won’t be bombarding you like I have in the last week. Hopefully 2013 is going to be a good year for us all. I have good feeling about it.

Top Programme of the Week – Splash!

Top Song of the Week – One Direction – Little Things

Book I Am Currently Reading – The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

 

