Hey everyone I’m back again with my weekly blog post. This week has been a fairly routine week really and despite ending the week with sinusitis I am still quite cheery. anyway here is what I have been up to or has been on my mind this week.

I first have to start by making an apology. In last weeks blog I said I was going to say hi to people who follow me on Twitter if I see them for real or try to say hello to someone I see regularly on the train. Well I haven’t seen a Twitter follower this week and unfortunately I haven’t said hi to a regular train traveller. This all came about after someone recognised me from Twitter and I felt bad that I had felt awkward about it. So I need to overcome this awkwardness and I will have to try it sometime but when the moment is right.

This week I had to write my ASR. I always hate doing this type of thing because it involves self praise and it makes me feel uncomfortable. It’s the same as job applications I usually struggle to ‘sell myself’. I debated about putting some things into my ASR and normally I would talk myself out of doing so but I decided this time I would. One of my resolutions was to move on with my career and maybe it is time I actually show what I can do and actually highlight some stuff I have been involved in. That is after all what an ASR is for isn’t it?

At the end of the week I seemed to get the sniffles. I said sniffles rather than cold or man flu because that’s all it is really just sniffles. It is just me and my sinus’ having a disagreement again. Hopefully it will get better soon.

During the early part of the week I was thinking about getting a Kindle. It’s not the first time I have thought about getting an e-reader and I know it is only a question of when rather than if I get one. Some people think that because I work in a library that I will be against a e-reader. Well actually a lot of librarians do love e-readers and I think there is a place for them. I know there is nothing that can replace the feel, the smell, the experience of reading a printed book and I can’t see myself ever stopping reading printed books but I now see an e-book as just another format such as hardback or paperback. Some people will only read paperbacks they don’t like hardbacks. This hasn’t stopped the production of hardbacks, they still exist and I think e-books will just go alongside these other formats. I will have to just save some money up for an Kindle. I suppose it is my birthday soon so I can save any money I get from that to go towards it. Maybe an e-reader could help me getting my reading mojo back as I seem to have hit a bit of a reading slump at the moment which isn’t good as I have lots to read at the moment.

January is usually a month when we all feel a bit fed up and you would have though feel a bit under the weather would make things worse. Well for some reason I feel quite upbeat at the moment (I know shock horror). I feel quite positive about things at the moment and hopefully this feeling will only increase over the year. I suppose it is the first time in a while that I have felt like this. Things may not have changed much but I can now see ways that I can make them change and that’s how it all starts. I think making my bucket list last year and my New Years Resolutions have helped me focus on some things.

This weekend I went to see the Les Miserables film (or the Glums as they are known in the business). I am planning on seeing it again later on but I just had to see it this weekend (I have waited a long time to see this musical on the big screen). I had high expectations for this film. It is one of my favourite musicals of all time. It was the first show I ever saw in the West End and the first time that theatre had really moved me. Having such high expectations is always dangerous but this time they were not let down. It is wonderfully produced and has some stunning performances. Anne Hathaway surprisingly is perfect as Fantine deserves her Oscar nomination as does Hugh Jackman for his role as Valjean. Another brilliant performance is Samantha Barks who plays Eponine. She has one of my favourite songs ‘On My Own’ and she really captures the heartbreak of that song. If there was ever a song to sum up unrequited love it’s that one. I was quite glad I am a bit sniffly at the moment as it disguised the moments when I cried which was quite a lot. I think I cried more at the film version than the actual stage version. It is a great film and I hope it gets the recognition it deserves at all the award ceremonies this year.

Well that is it for this week.I’m off to dig my snow boots out after seeing the weather forecast. I hope you all have a good week. So until the same time next week bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – The Polar Bear Family & Me

Top Song of the Week – Cast of Les Miserables – One Day More

Book I Am Currently Reading – The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

 

