Talk about speaking too soon. In last weeks blog post I said how upbeat I was feeling even though it was January and I was feeling a bit under the weather. Well this week the reality has hit and that normal January feeling has hit. I think it is the combination of miserable weather, feeling unwell and the depressing thought that it is my birthday in only a matter of days. Anyway here is what has been happening in my life and on my mind this week.

Over the years in my blog I have talked about the joys and perils of commuting. Well this week is another one of those blog posts. Regular readers of my blog may remember back in November I talked about the problems I had trying to travel to work due to the floods and one of those days I was not able to get into work. Well I sent off my refund form and this week I received my refund/response. East Coast have sent me the grand total of £5.71 in train vouchers for the one day I was unable to get into work. It was only for the one day as the refund form is not designed really for season tickets as you have to put the date you are claiming for and include the original ticket. This is OK for one claim but when there are a number of claims in the time period of the season ticket it is a problem. I thought it was a low amount so checked up with East Coast and they said the refund is in proportion to the amount I pay for the season ticket but it was just the one day. This is fair I know but it seemed quite low. So I looked at the  cost of a day ticket to Durham from Darlington (I know there has been an increase in the price since January but it is the best comparison I could do). A single ticket from Darlington to Durham costs £6.50 and a return costs £9.50. I know it is in comparison to how much I pay for my season ticket but the refund wouldn’t even pay for a single ticket to work. Add in that I missed a day at work and had to use holiday and it all seems quite low. I have complained but don’t expect anything from them. It just annoys me as the refund scheme seems to benefit day travellers rather than the season ticket holders who pay more into the rail network. We will see what happens.

The timing of the refund is quite fitting as at the moment there is a lot of snow and ice about. So far I haven’t had any travel problems but the weather is meant to continue like this for a few more days so we will see. Hopefully it won’t be too bad. At least with my snow boots I feel more comfortable walking on the snow and ice as there is nothing worse than the constant worry of falling over. However it does look beautiful seeing things in the snow. Yesterday I resisted the urge to build a snowman. I haven’t made a snowman since I was child and I had the desire to build one yesterday. However I am about to turn 32 and it would just look silly and a little sad for anyone watching to see a 32 year old single guy build a snowman. Oh well I will just have to think back to happy memories of the snow as a child and trying to build a snowman with soaking wet gloves but not wanting to go in and change. Oh what happy days they were.

I said at the start of this post that I had been feeling under the weather. This is partly because I still have a bit of a cold/sinusitis and this has led to two nights of none/little sleep. Twice this week I have been kept awake because of a blocked nose and sickness. There is nothing worse than seeing every hour of the night and then realising you are going to let only a little sleep or none at all. This made me feel like rubbish and I certainly looked it. I managed to struggle though during the following days but I was not 100%. I don’t know how people get through on just a few hours sleep. They must be terrible to be around. I know one thing for certain I need my sleep and hopefully things will be better this week.

So this is my last blog post as a 31 yr old. The last two birthdays I have had feelings of sadness as I was scared to turn 30 and then when I turned 31 I felt a bit flat because it was a bit of an anti climax. This year though I don’t have any feelings. I suppose it is just another year now but at the same time I am feeling a bit anxious about it all. I suppose if I was more settled then maybe it would be fine but I’m not and that adds to the insecurities I suppose. Of course I can’t change the fact that I am getting older but it is making  me think about focusing on things more such as career, love life, and me personally and that can be quite scary.

Well that is it. I’ll speak to you next Sunday by which time I’ll be 32. Yikes. So until then bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Splash!

Top Song of the Week – Frank Turner – Reasons not to be an idiot

Book I Am Currently Reading – The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

