Hi everyone,

I hope you all had a good week. This week was actually alright for me this week although I have felt quite tired and had some people say ‘you need a holiday’ combined with me looking in the mirror and thinking ‘you look like c**p’. So I had better get planning on some sort of break this year as I think I need it. Apart from that this week’s been great. Anyway here is what I have been up to and been thinking about this week.

First of all I want to talk to about Broadchurch (I won’t giveaway who did it though honest and if you found this blog hoping you would find out then sorry I’m not giving away any spoilers). Monday night was the final episode of Broadchurch and there seemed to be a big buzz about the show in the papers, online at work etc. I loved the show and all the twists and turns that went with it. What I particularly liked was the development of all of the characters. Each one was looked at in-depth and that made it different from your usual whodunnit. Anyway I really liked the final episode and the whole experience the show seemed to create. ITV are producing some really good drama’s at the moment and the BBC is really slipping back in quality programme making.

This week it was also World Book Night. You are probably already aware as I did a special blog post about World Book Night and being a giver. I did get the impression that World Book Night wasn’t as big this compared with as its first year. Back in 2011 when the first World Book Night happened there were lots of programmes on TV and a total of 1 million books were given away. Now in 2013 it is half that number partly I guess due to funding cuts and the only TV coverage now is a short news item. I’m sure the event will continue to happen but it would be nice to see some more high-profile backing for the event. It is just a great thing to be involved in. Whether it’s about getting someone to read who doesn’t usually or helping someone rediscover the joy of books it is an event that is worth supporting.

Regular readers of my blog will know that commute to work each day by train. It’s part of my routine, I take it for granted. Well this week my train home was the Skyfall train.

Skyfalltrain

Now first of all I want to clarify I’m not a train spotter. Theres nothing wrong with that hobby/pastime but it doesn’t interest me. However if you decorate a whole train in a James Bond theme then you have my attention You would also get the same reaction if the Hogwarts Express turned up, after that my interest in trains disappears. Despite the interesting exterior the decor is the same as a normal train inside and there are no signs of Daniel Craig or more importantly Ben Whishaw (Maybe they were in first class). Ironically the journey home took longer than normal due to signalling problems, even James Bond can’t stop that. Still it was a bit different and made my journey home more interesting. A couple of days later I see the train again but on a different platform. How many times do I have to tell Daniel I’m more a Q type of guy.

I now want to talk about coffee. Regular readers and friends will know I like/need my coffee and that I am a big fan of Starbucks. So much so a colleague at work did a spoof Starbuckles sign for me. However I want to try other places you know broaden my horizons and mind and all that.. Yesterday this led to me having the worst coffee I have had in a long time. I have had coffee from vending machines that tasted better but I suppose that is all part of trying new things. During this month I have been trying out different coffee shops in town (I’ll discuss this in more detail in the next few weeks with a special blog post).The reason is that I want to try new places and also because despite my love of Starbucks I don’t like the annoying teenagers who have started to take over (God how old do I sound) so I need somewhere for the times I want some quality ‘me’ time. I tried somewhere yesterday and it was terrible so much so I hated myself for putting myself through the experience. I had to go to Starbucks to get a decent coffee to help me recover even if it did mean battling through the teenagers noise. Generally though I have quite enjoyed trying all the different coffee shops and look forward to sharing my findings soon.

Lately I have had cravings/withdrawal symptoms for theatre/art/museums. Basically anything cultural. It might seem odd to use the word craving but that’s the best way I can describe this feeling. I get this feeling when its been a while since I have done anything cultural. I am going to the theatre this week to see ‘The Sound of Music’ and have a gig planned for July  and of course I’m actually in a play but that’s about it. I think I need to try to do more with regards cultural activities. It’s not as if there’s not much happening I just need to get out and try it. I hope to have a trip to London later on in the year to see a show or two. Maybe this could be the break away I need . Fingers crossed I will be all cultured up very soon.

Well that’s for this week. I hope you all have a good week and I’ll be back next week with another blog (maybe 2). Thanks again for taking the time to read this.

Top Programme of the Week – Broadchurch

Top Song of the Week – Frank Turner – The Fisher King Blues

Book I Am Currently Reading – Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman

