Hi everyone,

I am writing this blog a bit earlier than normal as I probably wouldn’t have time later on today to write it and I am already building up a backlog of blogs to write such as my coffee shops blog which I have been trying to write-up for the last few weeks (it will get done honest)and I also plan to do a blog for my coming out anniversary. So here is what has been going on in my life this week.

Today is the 3rd anniversary of me writing my blog. Despite regularly blogging on a Sunday I started with the idea for my blog on Wednesday 12th May. I then decided that a Sunday night would be the best time to write a regular blog post and as they say the rest is history.  I am surprised I am still blogging regularly  after all this time. When I started I thought I would do it for a few months and then would probably get bored , but that hasn’t been the case and other the years I have shared a lot of aspects of my life with all of you. I find myself during the week thinking about what I will include and do make a note of ideas some of which make it into the blog others don’t. Writing my blog now is a different experience to when I first started. At the start I was just writing and not aware of an audience. Now I am aware that people read it and that does make me stop and think about how and what I blog about. This is a bit of a dilemma as I started this blog because I wanted to express how I was feeling and to use it to deal with things on my mind, in a sense I was writing for myself not an audience. Now I know there is an audience which I love having but I am conscious of how things come across. However by being so open about things it can make me appear to be attention seeking and that is not the case at all. In fact I do hold back on a lot of things as I know where the line is even if some people think I don’t. Have I lost friends because of this blog? Yes I think I have or should I say that friendships have probably changed with some people some for the better some for the worse. Also it is awkward when talking to people for real as I have already possibly told them about things in the blog so the line between reality and my blog sometimes gets blurred. Despite this I don’t regret writing my blog. It has helped me focus on my life and it has helped me in so many ways for example when I wrote my coming out  blog post I did question should I do it? Was it the right way to deal with that issue and yes it was for me and also I felt I had to explain the blog posts that had led up to that one. Also I hope some people came across it and read that and realised they weren’t alone in how they felt.  I would recommend blogging to people it is certainly worth a try.

Here are some blogging tips for anyone who is thinking about starting blogging

1) Blog regularly. Whether that is daily or weekly or monthly then stick to it as readers get into a habit of reading the blog.

2) Be honest. If you are open and honest with your readers as they will keep coming back also it can help you realise things about yourself.

3) Blog about something you know about. Whether that is books, films, food yourself etc. It doesn’t matter pick a topic and make it clear from the start to your audience that is what your blog will be about.

4) Read other blogs. By reading other blogs you get an idea of how blogs work and if you’like’ or comment on them then it will link back to yours so you might get some new readers.

So there you go my thoughts on blogging and some tips for future bloggers.  Please feel free to let me know your comments on my blog. I would like to know  what blog post has been your favourite so far. I have put a poll for you to take part in at the end of this blog post.

This week was a shorter week at work because of the Bank Holiday. It was nice to have a longer weekend but it always seem that you have to spend the rest of the week catching up on work. I didn’t do too much on the Bank holiday Monday except have a nice lazy day and sort out things on my new iPod. Which is what Bank Holidays are for surely.

There has been a lot of baby news this week. I know of at least 2 people who had babies this week as well as finding out friends are pregnant. It is lovely hear about and see. For some of my friends it is their  first and because of social media you suddenly feel part of the experience and I could see how magical it was for them. to have such a life changing experience probably can’t be described but I certainly did get that feeling. So congratulations to all those who had their life changing experience this week and to those that have got it to come. Big hugs to all of you.

Rehearsals for the play are going ok. I had one during the week and another later on today which is why this blog is a bit earlier than usual. I am feeling a bit more confident with my lines and I am really enjoying the experience and I’m just glad to be a part of this. I feel it is doing me a lot of good. Hopefully the audiences will also enjoy it when they come along at the end of June.

This weekend I went to see the new Star Trek film ‘Star Trek – Into Darkness’. I’m not going to give anything away so don’t worry. Now despite being a self-confessed geek I am not a huge fan of Star Trek. I’m more a Star Wars type of guy but saying that I do like the new Star Trek films. This latest one is just as good as the last one. It might not be an original idea but the cast are all fantastic especially Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto and Benedict Cumberbatch and it certainly worth seeing whether you are a Trekkie or not. It even worked quite well in 3D which I was surprised at as I usually don’t think 3D adds that much to a film. The film aside I am now learning that going to the cinema is a dangerous experience and I don’t just mean wearing a red top to see Star Trek. The danger is popcorn, well that and loose arms on cinema chairs but that’s too embarrassing to go into.I don’t usually have popcorn but the last few times I have and it is nice but I get it all over the place. Even just a small box I seem to throw it everywhere. Thankfully my local cinema is not that busy so I don’t have loads of people around me otherwise I would be showering them in popcorn which I am sure is not socially acceptable. Oh and if you were wondering about the cinema chair, the arm once fell off and I only realised halfway through the film and had to subtly put it back on while the film was on. It was loose to begin with I didn’t break it honest. It was all fine in the end and I don’t think anyone saw.

Well that is it for now. I’m off to a rehearsal shortly so enjoy reading this blog post and hopefully. I will get one or 2 more blog posts done during the week.  Please take part in my poll and/or leave comments about any of my blog posts. It is always good to hear back what people think.

Top Programme of the Week – The Apprentice 

Top Song of the Week – Noah and the Whale – Now Is Exactly The Time

Book I Am Currently Reading – Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman

