Hi everyone,

I am  really really sorry this blog is so late but it has been a manic week last week and not had much time to sit and stop. Anyway here is what has been going on in the last week.

I have been busy with rehearsals this week and this is partly why this weeks blog is late. It’s all going well and I am still enjoying it. I’m ok on my lines now I just need to get into the character more. Still I am sure it will all the midge bites, noisy geese, dogs, local youths will all be worth it. As well as it being a new experience for me I have also met some great and talented people. I was worried when I got involved with the play for a few reasons. A Midsummer Night’s Dream was the first Shakespeare play that I was introduced to way back at Junior School by my teacher Mrs Sinden where we had to act out the play within a play scene. It was because of her that I love drama, and especially Shakespeare so being part of an actual production of this play means a big deal to me and I was worried my love for the play would disappear after constantly learning lines but so far my love for the play is still there The other thing I was worried about was not being good enough and letting the others down. I haven’t done any drama since my GCSE’s so I wasn’t sure if I would be any good. I’m aware of my ability and I think I’m ok but I don’t expect the RSC to come knock anytime soon. I know one thing I’m putting everything I can into it. The final worry I had was fitting in. Would I fit in with an established group of people and I think I have. Everyone is great and that has been a great help so I do feel part of things. I just hope now that we have nice weather at the end of June and that the geese are a lot quieter.

The other big thing this week was Eurovision. I was a little concerned that this years Eurovision was going to be a bit safe and sensible but no it was true to its values. I want to say a well done to Sweden for hosting the competition and putting together the best interval act I have seen at Eurovision, it was called the Swedish Smorgasboard and featured everything Swedish including tap dancing meatball (that beats Michael Flatley’s Riverdance anytime). There were also some odd performances as well such Romania’s very high-pitched singer and of course the Greek entry ‘Alcohol is free’. My favourites were Finland and Malta. I wasn’t that impressed with the overall winner by Denmark. It was ok but nothing special. I think Denmark will have to go some way to beat Sweden in terms of the show they put on. The other issue is what is the UK going to do about their entries. Ideally we need to persuade some current successful act to take the risk and perform not someone from the 80’s. Bonnie still did ok, not brilliant but a bit more credible than the past few years. Let’s hope next year is better.

Well that’s all this week. Once again I’m really sorry for the lateness and the shortness of this blog post. I’ll try to make it up to you in the next blog.

Thanks again.

Top Programme of the Week – Eurovision Song Contest

Top Song of the Week – Glee Cast – You Have More Friends Than You Think You Know

Book I Am Currently Reading – The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald

