Hi everyone,

It is that time of the week again. So here is what has been going on in my life and head in the last week.

Last weekend it was a Bank Holiday weekend (although some banks were open) which meant I had Monday off work. This is good but it usually means that for the rest of the week my head tries to work out what day of the week it is. In last weeks blog post I talked about the different boxes I had open and they are still open which means I haven’t had much chance to just stop and relax for a while. So Monday was my attempt at relaxing which I suppose I did a bit but not as much as probably could have done with.  The downside to having a Monday off is that it easily throws my brain into confusion and the result was Tuesday was probably best described as a messy blur and meant even simple tasks such as taking my train pass with me so I could get to work didn’t happen and I had to get my Dad to bring it over to the station so that I didn’t miss my train and be late for work. I also seemed to lose the ability to speak effectively and on a few occasions it just came out a mumbled blurred noise. Despite all of this I managed to make it through the day and things were better during the week.

I say things were better during the week but I still had a bad day on Thursday. I was on my way to work and it was pouring down after I got off the train but I had to get something in town on my way to work so had to walk (often when the weather is bad I get the bus). I was doing ok with my umbrella and then some idiot in a car driving like a bat out of hell went through some water near me and I was drenched. I then went all Helen Mirren at the car who probably couldn’t see me because of the rain and judging by the speed they were too far away to hear me. I then had to carry on walking whilst wet until I got to work and spent time in the toilets drying my trousers on the hand dryer. So it is fair to say I didn’t have the best of days and will be glad when the week is over.

Rehearsals and things are still going ok with regards to the play. I had a costume fitting this week which went ok. I’m going to be in an army uniform which is ok after all everyone likes a man in uniform don’t they?? I also learnt this week that I have to have facial hair specifically a moustache for my role. I not sure how I looked when told this but this does scare me a little, actually a lot. I have never had facial hair I like to be clean-shaven and this is one of the reasons why I haven’t done Movember. I am confident on being able to grow one as if I don’t shave  for a day I notice the stubble quite quickly so it should be ok to do. I just have to get my head around having one. For some reason I would prefer to try having a little bit of a beard rather than a moustache but not sure how fitting that would be with regards to the 1940’s look we are going for. I was told I could have a stick on moustache but I know that if it fell off that would just throw me and I don’t need that worry while performing so a natural one is the better option. I will see what happens about this over the next few weeks.

On Saturday night I was at a friend’s wedding reception. It was great evening and nice to celebrate her marriage and I wish them all the happiness. It was also a nice opportunity to relax and enjoy myself which I haven’t done for a long time. Theres something about having a good dance at disco that helps make you feel better about things. It was just what I needed after the last few weeks.

Finally the geek in me can’t end this blog without talking about Dr Who and the replacement of Matt Smith. I wasn’t shocked about the news that Matt Smith was going to stand down. You often sense with the actor playing Dr Who when they have had enough and this last series has had that feeling. So who should be the replacement then? For me contenders are Russell Tovey, Ben Whishaw, Colin Morgan, Eddie Redmayne, Sean Pertwee or go for a total unknown actor (BBC if you are reading this I would happily audition and I’m cheap – well it’s worth a try). Ideally though I would like to see either Russell Tovey or Ben Whishaw. I think both of them have strong things they could bring to the role. I know there is a lot of speculation of a female Doctor and there is nothing stopping this happening however I think it would be too controversial at the present moment and not sure if the BBC would go for it. If they did Olivia Colman would be awesome in the role. So until then I’ll wait for the call or more realistically wait to hear which lucky person has got that special role.

Well that is it again for this week. Sorry it is a bit late again this weekend but it has just been one of those weekends. Hopefully this week will be better. so until next weekend. Bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – The Apprentice

Top Song of the Week – Daft Punk – Get Lucky

Book I Am Currently Reading – Smut by Alan Bennett

