Welcome to my first post this month. What this month has in store for me I don’t know but I will continue to blog about things that happen and what’s on my mind. anyway here is this weeks blog post.

It has been quite a busy week for me really. Earlier on in the week I went for a meal out with friends and to catch up with a friend who was visiting for a few days. When people move away we all say we’ll keep in touch but the reality is we don’t do we and life events just get in the way and we let them become excuses. Well this does happen but not always and there are some people who for whatever reason have kept in touch. It is of course a two-way process so both parties want to keep in touch. In some cases I speak to friends further away than those who live a lot closer. Life is funny like that isn’t it. Anyway it was good to catch up and it seemed to set the week up quite well.

This week I started my new job/role at work. I mentioned in last weeks blog post I was excited but also nervous and that was the case on Thursday but it seemed to go ok. There some personal dilemmas. Getting the balance right between the two grades and what to wear.  Getting the balance between the two roles will take time but it will come. My dress sense though will take longer. What’s my style? Like Dr Who it is important to pick a style. Obviously shirt and trousers is a good choice but then getting the right shirt, the right trousers and somehow keeping it slightly in trend and not looking like your dad is a tough challenge as well trying to avoid the librarian stereotype. Also I don’t have the budget to spend a huge fortune on a totally new look so need to slowly work up to it. Also do I wear something different to the days I am on the lower grade? I suppose it is just work in progress but any thoughts are welcome.

I have bought some new clothes though as I had days shopping this weekend up in Newcastle. I had a really nice day as it has been a long time since I last went shopping in Newcastle so it was nice to have a change of scenery. I also threw in a visit to the Baltic art gallery which I haven’t been to for years. So overall a really good day out. It has been a long time since I have had a day all to myself  and it was nice I certainly need to do things like this more often.

This week I felt that things had moved on for me. I suppose starting the new job helped but the way I am thinking about things seems to have changed in particular the way I see myself.  I am for the first time focusing on the good things I have and thinking about what I can do to change the things I am not happy with. I suppose what I am trying to say is that I feel a little bit grown up. I say a little bit because I know I have a bit to go. I suppose I am work in progress.

Even as an adult it is always good to be nostalgic especially when it comes to television programmes from your childhood. Well this week at work a book arrived all about the history of children’s television. It seemed to feature all the programmes from my childhood such as Jackanory, The Chronicles of Narnia, Going Live, The Animals of Farthing Wood, Super Gran, Maid Marion and her Merry Men. I  could go on but you get the idea. It’s funny how just seeing a picture or a clip from these shows transports you right back to being child and coming in from school and watching all these shows. One show that wasn’t in the book but had a big effect on me was Knightmare. I was sooooo desperate to be on that show but it never happened. I have learnt recently that sometimes they redid scenes and one of the winning teams actually only won because they redid their last scene. I am not sure how I feel about this but at the time it was all about the atmosphere and excitement. Apparently as part of the Edinburgh Festival they are doing Knightmare Live which sounds incredible and I just hope they tour with the idea and if they do I will put together a team to enter. Any takers?

Delayed publishing my blog because I wanted to talk about who the new Dr Who would be. I am gutted about the decision. Don’t get me wrong Peter Capaldi is a very very good actor and it is good for the show to have such talent linked to it. However for me he is not the doctor and I will find it hard to watch. Fans of Dr Who all know that there are certain qualities we want to see in a Doctor. I am sure Peter Capaldi has qualities for some fans but not for me. It also complicates previous stories and shows particularly Torchwood where he is partly responsible for the death of Ianto which should never have happened. It’s not a problem he has been in the show before but if those characters were influential then it does mean you have preconceptions of him. It is the first time I have been so against the decision of the new doctor. The only way Steven Moffat will get me watching after Christmas is to bring back Captain Jack and/or Mel (Bonnie Langford). Russell T Davies please come back. Some people think I might be being harsh and I need to give him a chance. Well maybe that is true so I will give him whatever time he is in the Christmas special to win me over. That’s fair isn’t it??

Oh well that’s it for this week. I’m off to have a massive geek sulk. [mutter mutter mutter]

Top Programme of the Week – Once Upon A Time

Top Song of the Week – Mandy Moore & Zachary Levi – I See The Light

Book I Am Currently Reading – Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

