We have all been in that situation in the pub/office/staff room/classroom etc when the topic of movies comes up. I know it certainly pops up in my work place on a regular basis. It might be discussing your favourite film ever or a recent film. Whatever the reason I am fairly certain you have discussed a film of some sort in the last week or so. Therefore we have probably at some point in our lives been asked “Have you seen [insert film title]” sometimes you realise it’s ok to say no I haven’t but then there are films that you feel you should have seen and don’t want to seem uneducated with your film choices so say yes. We do this with books as well. Often you can get away with it because you may know just enough to get away with it. I have realised recently that my film viewing is pretty bad when it comes to films I fell I should have seen. I even did Film Studies as part of my degree which I got a 2:1 in so I have carried the guilt of this list films with me for a while.

Sometimes when I have said no I haven’t seen the film a friend has lent me a copy of the film and after keeping it for a while unwatched I hand back. So any friends reading this saying I lent him that and he said he watched it. Sorry. So here is a list of films I fell I should have watched but haven’t. It’s by no means a definitive list but it does deal with most big films that people just expect others to have seen.

As I haven’t seen these films. The genres I have listed them under are based on my knowledge and the genres listed on IMDB for these film titles.

Crime

Oceans Eleven (original and remakes)

Zodiac

Natural Born Killers

L.A. Confidential

The Usual Suspects

The Big Lebowski

Taxi Driver

Blue Velvet

Martial Arts

Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon

Enter the Dragon

Rom Com

Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Four Weddings and a Funeral

Roman Holiday

When Harry Met Sally

The Goodbye Girl

Horror

The Wicker Man (Original or remake)

28 Days Later

The Lost Boys

American Psycho

Dawn of the Dead

Night of the Living Dead

The Exorcist

Texas Chain Saw Massacre

A Nightmare on Elm Street

An American Werewolf in London

Carrie

The Shining

Action

The Crow

Kill Bill

V for Vendetta

Platoon

Dirty Harry

North by Northwest

Taken

Musicals

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Hairspray (Both versions)

Cabaret

On the Town

The Blues Brothers

An American In Paris

Gigi

Fiddler on the Roof

Chicago

The King and I

Top Hat

Easter Parade

Fame

Oklahoma

Guys & Dolls

White Christmas

South Pacific

Sweet Charity

Sweeney Todd

Sci-Fi

Twelve Monkeys

Being John Malkovich

Robocop

Planet of the Apes (original or remake)

Close Encounters of the Third Kind

Alien

Aliens

2001: A Space Odyssey

Gangster

Snatch

Scarface

The Godfather Trilogy

Get Carter

Reservoir Dogs

Pulp Fiction

Goodfellas

The Departed

Disney

Beauty & the Beast (watched 16th Feb 2014)

Finding Nemo

Wall-E

Aladdin (watched 20th April 2014)

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

Lady and the Tramp

Song of the South

One Hundred and One Dalmatians

The Aristocats

Bedknobs and Broomsticks

Pete’s Dragon

Pocahontas

Hercules

Tarzan

Enchanted

Romance

Dirty Dancing

Amelie

Brief Encounter

Gone With The Wind

Love Story

Ghost

Three Coins In The Fountain

Pretty Woman

My Beautiful Laundrette

Drama

Rain Man

Rocky

The Breakfast Club

Good Morning Vietnam

The Elephant Man

Trainspotting – (watched 6th February 2017)

Midnight Cowboy

Requiem for a Dream

Local Hero

The Bridge Over the River Kwai

One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest

American Beauty

Stand By Me

Donny Darko

Casablanca

Fight Club

The Shawshank Redemption

Warrior

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – (watched 21/09/2013)

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

The Manchurian Candidate

A Streetcar Named Desire

All Quiet on The Western Front

All The King’s Men

From Here To Eternity

Funny Girl

Kramer vs. Kramer

The Deer Hunter

Chariots of Fire

Out of Africa

Driving Miss Daisy

Dead Poets Society

The Prince of Tides

The Piano

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

Philadelphia

The African Queen

The History Boys

About a Boy

Kes

Thriller

Fatal Attraction

Se7en

Silence of the Lambs

Rear Window

12 Angry Men

Sunset Boulevard

Dr Strangelove

Historical

300

All The Presidents Men

Amadeus

A Man For All Seasons

The Pianist

Gandhi

The Madness of King George

Milk

Lincoln

The Great Escape

Literary Adaptations

Sense and Sensibility

The English Patient

Last of the Mohicans

The Princess Bride

A Clockwork Orange

Life of Pi

Rebecca

A Passage To India

Howard’s End

Chocolat

Animated

My Neighbour Totoro

How To Train Your Dragon

Spirited Away

Grave of the Fireflies

Comedy

Shaun of the Dead

Anchorman

Kind Hearts & Coronets

Some Like It Hot

The Hangover

Terms of Endearment

Western

The Magnificent Seven

The Good The Bad and The Ugly

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid

Fantasy

Pan’s Labyrinth

