Hi everyone. I hope you are well and had a good week. It has been a week of various little things this week but anyway here is what has been going on in my life in the last week.

First of all a bit of a follow-up to the last two blog posts that I have done and the reaction to them. I did a blog post during the week which was a confessional post about films I feel I should have seen but haven’t. I have had a few reactions to this list mostly of shock and horror at the films I haven’t seen. The films I have had the most comments about is ‘The Princess Bride’ and ‘Breakfast Club’. I do feel a bit of shame but that is why I did the blog post to confess once and for all I haven’t seen them. If I do eventually get around to watching a film on the list I will put a date next to the title to indicate this. The other update I wanted to mention is to last Sundays blog post where I mentioned the reaction to dressing a bit smarter. I did notice people were a bit more wary about saying anything which means the message got across. The other reaction was a number of people got in touch with me to say they have experienced the same thing in their place of work. They were men and women who got in touch so it’s not gender specific. Anyway it seems to have calmed down a bit for me though and at least I know it wasn’t mean just being over sensitive.

In last weeks post I did a poll to help me decide which coffee I change to on a morning. The poll is still open so please do vote in it. I’m wanting to change for a number of reasons and even the barista at Costa Coffee now is just waiting for me to change. Personally I think it is part of their plan as the coffee I get (Medio Mocha Flake) hasn’t been listed for a long time now but they still do it for me but they are forgetting one of elements each week now. So in September I’m changing to something less complicated but to what is up to you. So please vote and help change my routine.

Whether it’s the new job or I’m just maturing but I am feeling a bit more organised in my life. This is helped by that brilliant thing the ‘To Do List’ which is certainly helping at work. I am also trying to be a bit more organised in my personal life as well. Nothing drastic but just little things and tasks. One of the things I did this week was to sort out my pictures on Facebook and my phone. It’s a modern-day problem isn’t it. We seem to take photos all the time due to the feeling we have that we need to update our social media life. It’s amazing how many pictures of coffee I had on my phone and Facebook. So I uploaded any pictures on my phone I wanted to keep to Facebook and then spent a long time creating albums to out those random pictures in and moving them around. I do now seem to have a cake album which consists of cake I have eaten or baked myself. I think I’m turning into Sarah Millican. Anyway I got rid of a lot of random pictures and the rest are now more manageable. Do other people do this or is it just me?

At the start of the week I decided that I had to finish reading ‘Wolf Hall’ by Hilary Mantel as I had been reading it for a bout 4 weeks and I just wasn’t enjoying it anymore.  Don’t you hate that feeling where you just feel you are not making any progress with a book but you have made the commitment of over a 100 pages so you might as well continue. Don’t get me wrong it was a good book but it is over hyped and far too detailed. I have read History text books that weren’t as detailed as that. I will read the second one though as I have on my bucket list that I will read all the Booker winners. I will probably leave it till next year though to read it. The other reason I wanted to finish it was because I haven recently bought a few new books on my Kindle and the last 4 books I have read have all been printed so it would be nice to read my Kindle again.

On Thursday I renamed the day Filth Thursday as it seemed to me that what ever happened it was like I was in a Carry On Movie. It started with my morning commute when I was walking away from the coffee shop and misheard the barista when they said to another customer do you want cinnamon on that. I realised my mistake and got on the train and sat down drinking my coffee and listening to my iPod. It was the in-between song moment when I heard the girl in front of me say to her friend “I always knew he was a sword swallower” now that very thought you have just had also came into my mind as well. The next track on my iPod came on and I tried to shake the incident from my mind. So because of this I renamed Thursday ‘Filth’ Thursday. It might happen each week I don’t know but I will let you know if it does. Has this happened to you do let me know if it has just so I don’t feel as bad.

I mentioned earlier in this blog post that there were lots of films I just haven’t seen. Well despite this I rewatched a film last night. However it was me doing duty of being a good gay son by introducing the musical ‘Les Miserables’ to my Mum. There was nothing on TV last night so we watched the film of Les Mis. It is in my opinion one of the greatest musicals ever made and saw it as my duty as a gay man to introduce her to the film. She did like but there were a few tears though and not just because of Russell Crowes singing. So far it is my favourite film of the year and was even better watching it the second time.

Well that is it for this week. Sorry it’s quite bitty this week and doesn’t flow as well others but that’s the way it goes.  Anyway remember to leave any comments you have and to vote on last weeks poll if you can. Until then though I will take my leave until next weekend.

 

Top Programme of the Week – The White Queen

Top Song of the Week – Lady GagGa – Applause

Book I Am Currently Reading – A Tale For The Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

