Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. I hope you have all had a good week. Well as usual this is what has been going on in my life and been on my mind this week.

Autumn is well and truly here now isn’t it. It is wet and the leaves have almost all fallen off the trees and it is very dark on a morning. At 6am when my alarm goes off I just don’t want to get out of bed, you probably have the same feeling. Twice this week I snoozed too long and had to miss breakfast and make a mad dash to the station. This is not the best start to the week or the working day. My holiday can’t come quick enough.

Before I start talking about what I have been up to. I want to bring up the issue of the BBC News. I know it is random but I am becoming more annoyed by the background of the news desk. I love the BBC and the only news I do watch is the BBC. At 10pm I tune into watch Huw Edwards to tell me what is happening in the world. It is all doom and gloom I know but he does it in a reassuring way I don’t really mind. Since the BBC moved out of Television Centre the new news desk is a bit distracting and dare I say it a bit too SKY News but with better journalists. The big issue I have is the big window behind the presenter where you can see what is happening in the open plan office behind Huw. I find myself watching people run past or yawning, drinking coffee, talking, going home etc while ignoring Huw and the other news readers. I guess it is trying to show that the news is a 24hr dynamic operation but in reality it just looks like the office I work in and this breaks the illusion of what I thought it would be like to be in the BBC News room. For a brief period the office I work in was on display to visitors to the library and I am sure it was disliked by both parties. I did notice a few weeks ago that the BBC had blurred the window a bit but that worse as you could see something but not clearer enough to tell for certain what was happening.  Right I have got that of my chest and feel better for it. Have been meaning to say this for a few weeks. Anyone else out there have the same problem or is it just me.

I upgraded my phone this week to the new iPhone 5C (yellow). I have talked before about how much I love Apple and I really liked the look of the iPhone  5C. I know the 5S has more technology inside it but I wanted a colourful phone so went for the 5C. I went for the Yellow as it is nice and bright and cheerful. It was between the Yellow and the Green but when I saw them both I decided on the Yellow. It is a lot lighter than the previous phone as well which is good and the touchscreen is better than the 5 as well. I know there is not much more iPhone can probably do so when I next get a phone I will consider all options and not just iPhone. This is the longest I have stuck with a make of phone and so far it is still the best so for now I am an Apple guy still.

I did some baking today as there is Bake Off style competition at work tomorrow. It is the second year this has taken place. I did OK last year and hopefully do OK this year as well. I won’t say what I have made until next week as it is meant to be a surprise. It is tricky to decide what to make though as you want yours to stand out but also appeal to lots of people. Not only does it have to look good and taste good but tactics are needed to impress the large audience who will be voting. I’ll talk more about this in next weeks blog post. In the meantime wish me look for the competition.

Well that is it for this week. I’ll be back again same time next week. So until then bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Stephen Fy: Out There

Top Song of the Week – Josh Groban – Falling Slowly

Book I Am Currently Reading – Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen

