Is it really only a week since I last did this blog post. My week off seems a long time ago now and it back to the reality of the everyday routine and also to quote Game of Thrones “winter is coming”. The downside of this is cold and wet weather but on the plus side it means winter jumpers and scarves. Anyway here is what has been going on in the last week.

The year is rapidly drawing to a close and it is that time of the year where we start thinking about Christmas and the New Year. I haven’t done much preparation but I have bought a diary for next year and after a number of years of saying no I have finally given in and bought a Star Wars LEGO Advent calendar. This is my only preparation and have nothing really planned for other the festivities. Everywhere you look now though you see something Christmas related which is fine as I don’t mind Christmas things once Bonfire Night is over with. Television adverts are great at the moment especially the John Lewis advert. It is great to see that some adverts are part of the modern Christmas tradition. The two that stand out are the ‘Holidays are Coming’ advert by Coca Cola and of course the John Lewis advert. To say I like this years John Lewis advert is an understatement. I absolutely adore it. I love the animation as it reminds me of The Animals of Farthing Wood  cartoon I used to watch. I also love the song. I know it is a cover of Keane’s ‘Somewhere Only We Know’ but it is beautifully done by Lilly Allen. It is a great advert and I show no signs of tiring of seeing it. Anyway I suppose I had better start planning for Christmas and New Year, especially New Year as it would be good to do something for once at New Year.

This week saw the return of the Lumiere festival to Durham. This is the third time Durham has had the Lumiere festival, the last time being 2 years ago. It is a really great event and what really makes me pleased is that even though Durham did not win the Capital of Culture bid for this year, it still went ahead with lots of events such as the Lindisfarne Gospels, Book Festival, Lumiere and the Brass Festival. This time for Lumiere you needed a ticket if you were going to visit the central part between 16:30 – 19:30. This in the end did work out well as it wasn’t as crowded as other years during this time period although the queue to get into the Cathedral was long and slow.  This year the displays were more spread out throughout the city and not just focussed on the centre of the city. Two of the pieces were right outside of where I work and one of these was a projection of an Eye on to the library I work in. My favourite piece was called ‘El Sol’ and was a load of tents some of which were interactive such as the ‘Caress me tent’ and the ’10 seconds of fame tent’ and others played music.534061_10100660241498153_1343106917_n It was just a great display and quite fun. Other pieces I liked were Solar Equation, Elephantastic and also Sanctuary. It was a really enjoyable evening just wandering around the city discovering the installations and also visiting parts of the city I have never been to or very rarely go to. I hope they do it again in 2 years time.

This weekend I went to the cinema to see Gravity. This was the first time I had been back to the Odeon cinema in Darlington since the terrible experience back in July during Monsters University. I wasn’t sure about going to see Gravity partly because of the Odeon but also because I had seen the trailer so many times and it had disturbed me so much I wasn’t sure I could watch the whole thing. however I am very glad I did go to see it especially in 3D. It is visually stunning and the space geek in me loved all the views of the Earth and the shuttle and space station. It was a nervous watch though but it is worth seeing on the big screen so if like me you had concerns from the trailer then put them to one side and go and see it.

Well that is it for this week. A bit of a shorter one after last weeks biggy. Thanks for taking the time to read it and I will be back again next week possibly with two blog posts so keep an eye out. So until then bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Gogglebox

Top Song of the Week – Lady Gaga – MANiCURE

Book I Am Currently Reading – Mountains of the Moon by I J Kay

