Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. First of all thank you to everyone who voted on the poll last week to help me decide what this months special blog post topic should be. It looks like it is going to be ‘A letter to my 16-year-old self’. So I will start work on it as soon as possible. In the mean time here is this weeks post.

It’s not been the best of weeks for me this week as I have been full of cold which is not fun. It started last weekend  with a sore throat and by Tuesday I had become a snot monster. I’m not the only one as a large number of people in the office seem to have the same thing as well. Hopefully I will get rid of it over the next week. I still managed to get to work and rehearsals though although I wasn’t on top form. Maybe the cold is a reaction to having such a busy week the other week. I’m not used to having a social life so it’s a shock to my system. One of the things with a cold is you often feel sorry for yourself so I have struggled this week trying to stay positive. I have had a lot going on at home and work so lots of ‘boxes open’ and feeling under the weather doesn’t help with sorting them out. Hopefully things will be better this week.

On Monday night I was walking into town to go to rehearsal and I passed a policeman on the beat who said ‘evening’ to me and then carried on walking. It was as if I had stepped back in time to the 1930’s. After he walked away I suddenly felt guilty for no reason whats so ever . Why do innocent people feel like this when this type of thing happens. Maybe he said ‘evening’ to see how I responded as he may have though I was up to no good. I didn’t look that dodgy I was only going to rehearsals. I know my Welsh accent (for Under Milk Wood)is not great but it’s not criminal surely.

Staying with the topic of speaking to strangers I had an incident this week on my commute. Now I have mentioned many, many times the golden rule of commuting is that you don’t interact with other passengers.  Well this week I had gone through the barrier and was about to walk along the platform as normal when a regular commuter went through the barrier that was still open. Now this guy gets this train everyday and the staff must know that he has a season pass. However they called out to him to come back and show his ticket but like me he had his headphones in and didn’t hear. The station staff then signalled to me to tell him as he was passing by me. Now this is an awkward dilemma as he is a regular commuter so the golden rule applies, also he works for the same organisation as me, and finally I sense he doesn’t like me anyway (I don’t know why I think this I just do). I call him the ‘reader’ because he is always reading a book on the train. I think I’ve mentioned before I have names for the regular commuters haven’t I? If not please let me know. He puts me to shame if I am honest with all the reading he does. I have very rarely spoken to him in the past and usually only to ask if the seat next to him is free on a busy train. Normally I just get disapproving looks for some reason. Anyway I tapped him on the shoulder and apologised and said the station staff wanted to speak to him. I then hurried further down the platform to avoid any eye contact with him. I know it sounds very trivial but little things like this are awkward situations for the average commuter.

I apologise for the next little rant I am going to have as it is likely to make me sound like a Daily Mail reader who has written a letter to the editor. I am of course not a Daily Mail reader but there is something that has been annoying me for a while now and that is dog muck. Over the last year there seems to have been a lot more dog muck around on public footpaths. Why aren’t the owners cleaning up when they are walking dogs? A lot of dog owners obviously do but there seem to be a growing number that just leave it on the ground. where I live it is a 15 minute walk into town. On this journey I have had to avoid 7 or 8 different lots of dog muck. I remember as child it used to happen a lot but then the ‘Keep Britain Tidy’ campaign really helped change attitudes plus there was a dog license. Now it seems anyone can get a dog and they just don’t care. I know it’s not a nice task but someone has to and as the dogs owners it should be you. The Council has enough cuts going on so they can’t clean up all of it and they shouldn’t have to.  I apologise to the responsible dog owners reading this as I know you are probably just as annoyed as I am. So please remember dog owners please pick up after your dog has done its business.

Ok right my little rant is over. I don’t want to end the blog post on that topic so thought I would end it with a discussion I have had this week about Disney’s Frozen. Last December I went to see the film and thought it was good. Since its release it popularity has gone through the roof. There are now sing along screenings, its won Oscars, BAFTA’s, bestselling soundtrack and is to be made into a broadway musical. Disney have a huge success on their hands. It is now so popular that it is even creating controversy because some people think it is encouraging homosexuality. Seriously have they watched the film? I admit the gay community have taken the song ‘Let It Go’ and made it a gay anthem (I admit to singing this in my room) and there is a possible debate around the character of Elsa’s sexuality as she comes to terms with her special power that people are afraid of. But at the end of the day its Disney and they are a long way off from having an openly gay character in a Disney Classic.  I am though surprised at the success of the film but then what do I know. When Aladdin came out (the film not the character honestly)I remember thinking that would be a flop and it wasn’t so it proves I know nothing about what is popular and what isn’t. It has made me question though what is a Disney musical because I heard this week that it is the first Disney musical since ‘Pocahontas’ and the best since ‘The Lion King’. First of all I didn’t realise Pocahontas was a musical and if it was then surely ‘Hercules’, ‘Mulan’, ‘The Princess and the Frog’ and ‘Tangled’ are all musicals. I think this a debate for another time but please let me know what you think.

Well that is it for this week. I hope my cold goes this week and that I am back normal as I have those life boxes to sort out.

Top Programme of the Week – Dancing on Ice

Top Song of the Week – Yolanda Be Cool & D Cup – We No Speak Americano

Book I Am Currently Reading – Chris Ryan Extreme: Most Wanted by Chris Ryan

