Hi and welcome to my first blog post of April. I hope you have all had a good week. I have had a busy week at work but now I have a week off to relax and recharge my batteries and this is long overdue. Anyway here is what I have been up to this week and what has been on my mind.

We are now into April which is not my favourite month. I am not sure why but generally it is the month where I get fed up with things more than usual. Hopefully it will be different this year but we will see. It was of course April Fools Day this week and I hate this day. I don’t mind silly tricks or jokes but sometimes some people make a joke out of something which they forget can be insensitive to others. There were a couple of things I saw this year which were in this category and although no malice was meant they were insensitive to other people’s feelings. I am just glad it is over with for a year and hopefully next time people will think about what they do and say.

On the subject of social media over the last 12 months we have seen the phenomenon of the selfie and the shelfie.

#Deskie
#Deskie

Well this week I discovered the deskie. I thought it was a new idea but judging by the hashtag on Twitter it has been around for a few months. A deskie is where you take a picture of your desk. There is a theme with my desk and that is of LEGO and Dr Who. It was quite fun to see other people’s desks and I think it says a lot about someone how they have their desk.

This week on my way work to work I went for my morning coffee at Starbucks. I have been visiting Starbucks rather than Costa on my way to work as I seem to be more productive if I have a Starbucks. Anyway I ordered my coffee and was waiting for it and the barista started chatting to me. He was asking if I had much planned for the weekend. Lego BaristaI said no not really. He then said he could guess what my drink would be on a night out and he guessed at wine. Which is true and he seemed very pleased with this. He then tried to guess his colleagues drink but got it totally wrong. It was a very odd conversation especially for that time of the morning but it is nice to have some genuine interaction I suppose even if it was in my opinion bordering on flirting (he wasn’t flirting he has a girlfriend). The relationship between a coffee drinker and a barista is an odd one. They are strangers but over time they get to know you and you them. They know my name, where I work, my favourite coffee, call me pal or bud, even know my views on Batman and I accept this without question. I know their name, what pet they have, what they are studying, I even know what the body fat of one of them. I have my favourites and I’m sure they do to but it is never spoken of.  I don’t expect a friend request on Facebook from them or a follow on Twitter but they speak to me more than some friends or relatives do. It is a strange relationship indeed.

I had a bit of a dilemma this week. To buy a ticket to Michael Buble or not. I admit it is not the most pressing social issue in the World but it was on my mind this week I have thought about seeing him in concert before but always missed the chance but this week he announced dates in December at Newcastle. I decided that I would try to get a ticket. It is after all Buble in December. He is Mr Christmas it will be amazing but also expensive. For a decent ticket it was going to be more than I paid for Kylie and he isn’t worth more than Kylie. I didn’t know what to do. I thought I would try to get a ticket and see what it would actually cost. In the end I did get one and it was a little bit more than Kylie but not a huge amount. So that is to things to look forward to later on in the year.

Those of you who know me will probably know I used to volunteer for Hospital Radio. I did it for 10 years and it was great to do but 2 years I go I felt it was time to move on and although charities face many difficulties I hoped it would continue. This week I heard that the station was currently not broadcasting as the hospital is undergoing major renovation work and as yet there is no  new location planned for the station. Hopefully it can continue but that it seems is down to the Hospital itself whether that happens. The station was founded in 1984 and for 30 years it provided a well-loved service to the patients of the hospital. I hope it can be saved and carry on for 30 more years but it doesn’t look that way. So much for Cameron’s Big Society.

This week I watched Gogglebox. I love this show and it is always fascinating to see what people think of different shows. On the programme they often feature a big news story from the week and this week it was same-sex marriage. Most of them watching were pleased it was now legal for same-sex couples to get married. While they were watching the news story they saw two men kiss after exchanging their wedding vows. That’s what happens in a wedding isn’t it? A number of the people in show turned away and expressed their disgust at this even though they had said they had no problem with same-sex marriage. The encouraging thing though was that the younger participants in the show were like what’s the problem? Which is a reassuring sign for the future. But why should a kiss be so repulsive to people. Some of them said they had no problem with two women kissing but they did think it was wrong for two men to kiss. It is just a kiss get over it. This reaction is why many gay couples don’t show affection in public. It’s not that they don’t want to it’s just they don’t want to be faced with a negative reaction by others. I know many gay couples who have a strong relationship and been together for many years but still won’t show public affection because of this attitude. People might not think they are homophobic but by saying ‘err that’s unnatural ‘ I’m sorry that is homophobic and hurtful. Society has come along way but it proves there is still a long way to go but at least the next generation seem to be more accepting of others.

I mentioned at the start of this post that I am off work for a week. Often when I have time off it allows my mind to think sometimes over think things and I start contemplating about life, the Universe and me. I started feeling this way on Saturday night. I can see what I want and where I want to go but I’ve just lost the instruction booklet and the map to get there.Things seem better than 12 months ago but things are constantly changing and I’m just trying to see where I belong in everything that is going on. Hopefully the week off will be good. I plan to relax but also do some tasks I have put off for sometime I might even get this months special blog post done. I’ll let you know how this week goes next weekend.

Once again it is time for me to say goodbye but only until next week.

Top Programme of the Week – The Graham Norton Show

Top Song of the Week – Lea Michele – If You Say So

Book I Am Currently Reading – Conversations with Myself by Nelson Mandela

