Welcome one and all to this weeks blog post. I’m guessing you are all sat eating you remaining Easter Eggs. I have been fairly good. The only Easter food I have eaten today are 2 chocolate and fudge hot cross buns, and a Malteaser bunny. I have still have my 2 eggs to break into. Anyway before I do here is this weeks blog post.

First an update on this months special blog post. It is coming honest! I realised this week while working on it that it is now going to be a 2 part blog post. The 1st part this month and the 2nd part next month and the topic is dating which is why it is a struggle to write but I will get it done I promise.

It was back to work for me this week after my week off. I was ready to go back if I’m honest but it did meMorning commute on a Bank Holidayan I had a lot to catch up on when I did. It wasn’t a short week either as I was working Good Friday. I didn’t mind this as it means a nice quiet train on the morning commute. You don’t realise how much of a luxury it is to have a quiet train on the way to work. There were only 2 other people in the carriage and I had a table seat all to myself. Commuting doesn’t get better than that.The down side was Starbucks was closed until 9am so I had to settle for Costa but I suppose you can’t have everything. I still have a long weekend though as I am not working Bank Holiday Monday so I haven’t missed out totally on a short week.

This week a Banksy picture appeared in Bristol showing two young people in an embrace looking past each other into their mobile phones. I am not usually bothered about Banksy but I did like the message that this art was saying. Whether we like it or not for most people smartphones are part of our everyday life as is social media. I’m as guilty of this as anyone. I check Facebook and Twitter several times a day, I often ‘like’ a post or share a photo or tweet about something random or mundane. Why do we do it though and should we be sharing everything with everyone in this way. In real life when someone asks ‘How are you?’ you never reply with exactly how you are feeling do you. You probably say I’m fine thanks how are you. Even though you probably don’t really want to know if they are ok. On social media though we seem more honest and open with everyone and is this too much? This blog may seem like I tell everybody about everything I do or think but in fact I still hold back on some things. Why? Because I know this isn’t the right place to talk about some things and if I am going to talk about them then it will be with close friends and face to face. Even when I have discussed ‘big personal things’ such as when I came out neither my blog or my other social media were the first places I told people. I told some people first face to face and a couple of weeks later I then did the whole blog post thing. Yes most people did find out through social media but it wasn’t the first place I discussed it. I used social media because it was an easy way to tell a group of people something that is all and I am glad I did. Were some people upset I didn’t tell them face to face possibly yes I don’t know for certain but I still told them the news didn’t I. Like all forms of communication things can be misinterpreted or not come out the way you intended. It just happens that way sometimes but that is our fault and not the method of communication. I have heard so many times the phrase ‘Facebook strikes again’ or ‘Facebook causes too many problems’ when in fact it is isn’t Facebook or Twitter etc that is to blame it is us. Because we use social media so much in our everyday lives it might seem that we are less sociable as we don’t talk to each other. I don’t think that is the case though. I share what I do and where I do it with friends and family on Facebook they probably know more about me because of social media than they would have without it and that is a good thing. We all need to get to know each other better just as much as we need to use social media in the appropriate way . Social media should the way we learn about other people but if we want to know more then we need to make the time to sit with that person and talk more. We all need to talk to someone we just don’t always know how to start that conversation maybe social media provides that first step the rest is down to us.

This week my World Book Night books arrived. World Book Night is on Wednesday 23rd April and I am once again giving away copies of a book. The book this year is ‘Tales of the City’ by Armistead Maupin and I look forward to giving away my copies to people. I hope it helps get my reading mojo back as I haven’t been in the reading zone for a while now. Maybe it is too much on my mind or maybe I have just had the wrong book. Whatever it is I hope I fall back in love with reading soon. If you are taking part in World Book Night this year do let me know what title you are giving away and how.

Well I will let you get back to your Easter eggs and hot cross buns now. I hope to have my special blog post out this week but until then it is bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Tom Daley Goes Global

Top Song of the Week – A Great Big World – Already Home

Book I Am Currently Reading – A Spot Of Bother by Mark Haddon

