Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing my post play thoughts, plans for the future, swimming and the Tour De France.

This has been the first week I have had off since the play finished and I have been on a massive come down. It is sad that it is over but it does mean I can get back to doing things such as reading, blogging etc. I have bought some Shakespeare DVD’s just in case I get withdrawal symptoms. I have kept busy with a couple of blog posts during the week and I was back at work on Tuesday so I have had plenty to keep me busy.

Even though I have been keeping busy my thoughts have now turned to what to do for the next 6 months and where I want to be. This is partly spurred on by my mid year review blog post that I did this week. I need to get a move on with some things especially flat hunting and chartership. I also want to kick loose for a bit and have a fun. For most of my life I have always acted older than my years and let life pass by a lot. Various things this year have made me think that I need to start living my life more. This doesn’t mean I am abandoning the serious side of my life I still want my own place this year and do more with my job etc but at the same time I need to live my life. I am usually against setting time limits for things but I am going to say that by 35 I will have my own place, be a slimmer version of my current self and hopefully in a relationship with someone. If this doesn’t happen then it is not the end of the world but it is something to aim for. The last few years have not been great for me and I am starting to feel for the first time that things are improving and I like being me. Yes I still have down days and days when I wish I had certain people’s lifestyles but I soon come back to me and I am happy with that.

Since starting my healthy living regime at the start of May I have lost 1 st, 3lb. This is great and has given me such a confidence boost especially when other people tell me they have noticed and how good I am looking. I want to be healthy and look good and this weight loss will help this. I am not dieting I have just cut out snacks such as biscuits and eating smaller portions. I struggled the other week during the play but I am back on it now. I am also trying walk as much as I can and I am finding even just 30 minutes walking at lunch time makes a difference. Today I even went swimming for the first time in a couple of years and it was good to do. Hopefully I can go swimming at least once a week.  I will let you know how it all goes.

This weekend saw the start of the Tour de France and it wasn’t in France but Yorkshire. OK I am not a cyclist and it is fair to say I have a love hate relationship with cycling and certain types of cyclists. However it is great that the Tour de France is in the UK and up north relatively close to me. It is a great boost for the Yorkshire communities. It doesn’t make me want to cycle but it does make me want to visit Betty’s Tearooms. Anyway although the Tour de France in the UK is a great thing there is one downside and that is wannabe Tour de France champions. Since the wins by Sir Bradley Wiggins and Chris Froom there have been a lot of everyday cyclists trying to cycle like Froom, Wiggins or Cavendish and I have had to literally jump out-of-the-way as they go on and off the pavement. As they hurtling at speed they forget a number of things. Firstly stick to either the path or the road don’t use both. Secondly you are not in the Tour de France no matter what you think. Wearing yellow lycra doesn’t mean you are in the race it just means you have dubious fashion tastes. For decent cyclists reading this I know this doesn’t apply to you because you behave properly on a bike and I am sure these other cyclists are just as annoying to you as well. So please go ahead and enjoy the Tour de France and enjoy cycling but just think of others around you and remember you are no Chris Froom.

Well that is it for this week. Thank you for reading and I will be back again next week. So until then it is bye for now.

 

Top Programme of the Week – World Cup

Top Song of the Week – Kasabian – Treat

Book I Am Currently Reading – Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead

