Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing World War 1 Commemorations, Looking, how I have been feeling and the Global Corporate Challenge update. So let’s get started then.

On Monday it was 100 years since the start of World War 1 and by total chance I ended up helping my mam do some work on her family history project and came across some old photos of family members who were soldiers in World War 1. I have never shown much interest in my mams family history work as I think it appeals more when you are going it yourself. However seeing these photos on this day made it all very poignant. There were 2 family members involved in the same battle one was just 20 years old and was killed. The other was his Uncle and he survived and received the military medal. At school we learnt about the wars but it was just history and not a part of history I was interested in. Now knowing this story it makes it more real and I need to learn about them and their involvement in the war. To mark the 100 anniversary of the start of World War 1 people were asked to switch off the lights between 10 and 11pm and light a candle and reflect and remember. I sadly didn’t have a candle to light but I did sit and reflect and it was very relaxing and nice to have time to think. I hope many others did this too.

My relatives from South Africa are here on a brief visit to the North East. It is always lovely to see them even if it is just a short visit this time. Each time they visit it makes me remember all the way back to December 1998 when I went rover and visited them. So I dug my photos out from that trip and put them onto Facebook to share. Such happy memories and scary to think how long ago it was . Maybe one day I’ll visit again.

This week I finally got around to watching the TV series ‘Looking’. As I don’t have SKY I have had to wait until it was released on iTunes to buy. It was a great show even if it was just 8 episodes long. For those of you who don’t know it focuses on three gay men in San Francisco and their relationships. It is very realistic and I worryingly identified with the character too much although I don’t look as good as Jonathan Groff. Because of this it hit a nerve and made me think a lot about life and stuff and it made think I have a lot to do still.

This self-reflection has come at a time where I am basically physically and emotionally tired and I have been spending a lot of time on my own. I don’t usually mind this and being an only child I am generally ok with this but there’s a fine line with spending time on my own and being anti social and I think I am moving into the anti social stage and I need to stop that. I’m finding at work I’m not talking much to colleagues. This isn’t helped by having no staff room at the moment but it’s not an excuse. I’m going for walks at breaks and lunch time on my own and not seeking out others to chat with. After work I’m just coming home and staying in my room so I continue to be anti social and it’s not good for me or anyone else. I partly feel I want a good sit and chat and moan with someone but at the same time I don’t know what about. I usually can just get on and work through this feeling but I am physically and emotionally tired at the moment so my defences are down and it is harder to get through.  At the moment I’m taking the easy way out and just put my headphones in and block the world out when I’m on the train or on a walk I glance at my phone pretending to be busy. This week though I am going to attempt to not listen to my iPod on the way to work and not look at my phone unless I have to use it for a proper reason. I’ll do it for this week only and let you know how it goes next week.

I think the reason I am physically and emotionally tired is because I am very busy at work at the moment and I haven’t had any meaningful time off. I do have week off in September but it seems ages away. The other reason is that I am trying to maintain the 10,000 steps a day for the Global Corporate Challenge I am taking part in. I’m having walks at lunch times and break times but I have got to the point where I need a rest. So this weekend I have done very little in regards the challenge. I feel bad because it is a team effort at the end of the day but at the same time I needed a couple of days to relax bit. This third stage of the challenge I have found tough to do and I haven’t hit my stage challenge target so I’m a bit deflated with this at the moment.From tomorrow I’ll get back to it properly and have a big push for the last stage.  To anyone who has seen me this week and I have seemed a bit off with them or just ignored them it is nothing personal it is just me and the way I’m feeling, so sorry no hard feelings.

Top Programme of the Week – Great British Bake Off

Top Song of the Week – SMASH Cast – Under Pressure

Book I Am Currently Reading – How We Met by Katy Regan

