Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. First of all I’m sorry I haven’t posted my blog about my week trying to be more sociable. I have started it but I still have some work to do on it. In this weeks blog post I will be discussing the new Dr Who (there will be spoilers about episode 1 series 8), clouds and feeling lost. So let’s get started.

I’m going to start with my verdict on Dr Who. If you haven’t seen episode 1 of series 8 then stop reading now if you don’t want any spoilers. When Peter Capaldi was named the new Dr Who on 4th August 2013 it is fair to say I was not happy ( I walked out of the room in disgust). He is a great actor but I couldn’t see him as the Doctor and I said I wasn’t going to watch (I would give him the Christmas special thats all). The Whovian in me struggled with this and I did relent and watch last nights first full episode of Dr Who with Capaldi and it was a very cleverly done episode. The episode opened with new credits which I really like and then a dinosaur wandering through Victorian London is always a great start to any TV show. This episode was a tough one to find out about Capaldi’s Doctor as it is the first episode following a regeneration and they are always odd episodes. There are hints that the show is going to get darker and we are probably going to see a darker side to the Doctor as the series goes on. There were links to David Tennant’s Doctor (Girl In The Fireplace episode, he’s Scottish, Roman metal mentioned a possible reference to The Fires of Pompeii episode, and he seems to recognise this new face) For me this episode was about Clara and Jenna Coleman was outstanding in this episode. Clara for me is one of the strongest companions that there has been for a long time and this episode allowed the audience to see this fully. The scene towards the end where Matt Smith’s Doctor phones Clara to ask her to help the new Doctor is a beautiful scene. He is addressing the audience as well as Clara. All those doubters out there like myself are being asked to stick with him and support him. I was like Clara “he’s not my Doctor I can’t do this I’m sorry”. I needed to see past the veil to see the Doctor I know. It’s still early days but maybe I can do it.

I don’t know if there is some sort of weather system happening lately but I have been noticing clouds a lot more. Yes I know they are always there but lately there have been some really impressive clouds around at the moment. Maybe I should get around to reading ‘The Cloudspotters Guide’ to help me understand what types they are. I haven’t been cloud spotting it’s just that I have noticed them a lot when on the train or on my lunchtime walks. Theres something about being on your own and looking at clouds that make you think about the bigger picture. You start to get a sense of the size of the planet and how small we are in comparison and how extraordinary that we are here and that we should make more of out time in it.

I have been feeling a bit out of it for sometime. I have put it down to needing a break but I also need to sort some stuff out. I just feel a bit on the edge of things I am OK but I have felt I have drifted away from people and things and I haven’t noticed it happening. The best ay to describe is like being in a rubber ring at the seaside playing happily in the sea and suddenly I am too far out. I’m not too far that I can’t get back but when I do things have moved on and changed. I have been so preoccupied with work, making sure I do enough steps for the GCC, losing weight etc over recent months that I haven’t noticed everyone else moving on with their lives and some just pass me by now. Maybe I need to regenerate like the Doctor and maybe then some people will see through the veil.

So until next week bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Dr Who

Top Song of the Week – LCD Soundsystem – All My Friends

Book I Am Currently Reading – The Ruby Slippers by Keir Alexander

