Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing power cuts, family politics, start of term and Infinity Crates. So here is what has happened and been on my mind in the last week.

After a few bad weeks I decided that this week I was just going to forget stuff and move on and I have largely done that and I am happy about that. I know I can come across quite down beat sometimes in this blog but that is because I use this blog to clear my head. When there is good stuff I will talk about that too and I have done.

This week we had two power cuts at home. The first was early on Thursday morning. At first I though there was just something wrong with my lamp but then quickly realised it was all the power. This meant a few things. First no breakfast for me, I had to wash in cold water and finally as it dark on a morning now I had to get dressed by torchlight. I managed to get dressed and look OK. I decided my best option was to head off to work early and get breakfast and coffee on the way to work. This was a good plan and I had a coffee and pastry at Costa at the train station then another coffee at Starbucks in Durham. I need two coffee’s on a morning to make human. The second power cut happened on Friday evening. I got in from work to find out there was no power and it would be about 7:30pm before it was back. My first thought was ‘it had better be back on for Strictly’ then it was ‘oh it look like takeaway for tea’. It did come on after 7pm and apparently it was unconnected to the power cut the day before but I don’t believe that. Anyway fingers crossed that is all resolved now.

This week I have been very aware of family politics and it is really sad to see. Things are tough as a family at the moment and it appears family politics have raised their heads. This puts other family members in awkward situations and although it is best to not push things at the moment it is hard to watch others suffer. I sometimes feel the 1st generation of family members are forgetting the 2nd and some of the 3rd generation family members are longer the small children they think we are. The sad thing is that even though family politics are causing unhappiness everyone still cares about each other they are just not talking. If the last month has taught us all anything it is that life is too short and we don’t know what is around the corner so let’s move on and make the most of things. Surely there must be some good news coming sometime soon.

It has been another busy week at work as the start of term is now upon us. There still seems to be lots to do but it will get done it always does. 15 years ago I started University and I had no clue to all the work that was going on behind the scenes at University to get things ready for us. The start of a new year at uni is an exciting time for students and to anyone reading this starting uni I say make the most of this time and enjoy yourself but work hard. For staff though it is a touch manic and behind those smiles and cheery expressions there is a stressed person trying to stay calm. This time of year is our Christmas (sorry for using the C word in September) and we are like Santa’s elves getting ready for Christmas Eve.

This week my first Infinity Crate finally arrived. What is an Infinity Crate? I hear you ask well it a surpass box of geeky goodies that are connected to a theme. Infinity Crates are not the only company that do this service there is also Loot Crate and My Geek Box. A friend told me about these parcels a few months ago and as I am self-confessed geek I looked into the 3 companies and thought would give Infinity Crates a try. My plan is to try all 3 and compare them and put it all in a blog post. The theme for my box was ‘Destiny and it came with some very good items in it. I was really pleased and it wasn’t expensive and certainly worth the money. I think it is a really good idea and it is certainly a bit of fun.

Well that is it for this week. Thank you for taking the time to read this blog post. I will speak you all next week. So until then it is bye for now.
Top Programme of the Week – Downton Abbey

Top Song of the Week – Idina Menzel & Kristen Chenoweth – Defying Gravity

Book I Am Currently Reading – The Wake by Paul Kingsworth

