Wow is it really that time of the week again.  I am sorry this blog post is late again but time is something I am short of lately. In this weeks blog post I will be discussing the return of rehearsals, Phones4U & JUMP, The Gordon Burn Book Prize, National Coming Out Day and finally the feeling of being pulled in many directions. So without further delay let’s get started.

Regular readers of my blog will know that earlier this year I was in a production of The Tempest. Well we are doing the production again on 24th and 25th October but this time indoors. I have also had a change in roles again and for this production I will playing Stephano instead of Boatswain/Adrian or Trinculo. As this is a new role I am frantically trying to learn the new lines and this is one of the reasons why I haven’t had much free time in the last couple of weeks. I am sure it will be worth all the work though.

My ongoing saga with Phones4U/JUMP is still going on. The problem is that I am getting very little information from JUMP and then to make matters more frustrating Vodafone are giving incorrect information out. It appears no decision has been made by the administrators about JUMP and Phones4U so payments are still continuing. If I cancel the payments then I will have the remaining 12 months still to pay as I will be breaking the agreement. So I am currently waiting for more information about the future of the scheme. I then receive a text from Vodafone saying to call them regarding Phones4U to discuss what options I have. Brilliant I thought they must know more about it so I phoned them. It turns out they don’t know anymore and they told me to stop paying JUMP (This is not the advice that the Citizens Advice Bureau give) and then Vodafone tried to give me the hard sell and upgrade my contract with them. This really frustrated me as I am so confused and frustrated over it all anyway and I didn’t need this extra hassle. All the information that I have got is from me phoning JUMP up I have not had any letters/e-mails or calls from them and there is no useful information on the website  If you are a JUMP customer then I would love to hear from you about your experience so far.

On Friday evening I attended the Gordon Burn Book Prize 2014. The event is part of Durham Book Festival and it was the event that caught my eye in the programme. I have always fancied going to a book prize ceremony. It is one of my ambitions in life to be on a judging panel for a book prize I am just waiting for the call/e-mail. Anyway the shortlist for the award included ‘The Valley’ by Richard Benson, ‘The Kills’ by Richard House, ‘The Wake’ by Paul Kingsnorth, ‘The Trip to Echo Spring: Why Writers Drink’ by Olivia Laing, ‘American Interior’ by Gruff Rhys and ‘The Free’ by Willy Vlautin. Sadly Gruff Rhys and Willy Vlautin were unable to attend but like all good awards they sent video messages. The other 4 authors were there and they each read from their nominated books and then answered some questions about it. The two authors that really impressed me were Richard Benson and Paul Kingsnorth. I have tried to read ‘The Wake’ but I have had to put it down as I need a time in my life without too much going on so that I can give it the concentration it deserves. Richard Benson’s book sounded really interesting and as well as that he was beautiful to look at so points all round from me. I even bought his book at the end of the award ceremony. Sadly there was no book signing on this occasion. The winner of the award was Paul Kingsnorth for ‘The Wake’. It was a lovely evening but once again I felt a little bit out of my depth socially. The room seemed to be full of publishers, academics, and local officials and I felt that I was intruding on a party that I wasn’t supposed to be at (even though I bought my ticket). As part of the ticket price everyone received a free drink of either a G&T or Pink Gin (I of course went for the Pink Gin). I have never had a glass of gin before in my life so this was a first for me. Despite this social awkwardness that I felt it did make me want to start writing. They say there is a novel in all us and maybe it is time for me to start discovering mine. It is on my bucket list after all.

On Saturday it was National Coming Out Day. I know some people think by having this day it puts too much pressure on people about coming out. I think people should come out when they are ready to but having this specific day is good because it gives some people a date to start from. Even if they just come out to themselves on that date that is a start. They can use this date to build up to telling other people. One thing I have learnt is you never stop coming out. So to anyone reading this who did come out on National Coming Out Day then well done for making that first step to being you.

At the moment I don’t have much time to just stop and breath at the moment. Last Thursday I felt like that children’s toy Stretch Armstrong being pulled in all directions and all I really wanted to do was sit down and do nothing. I think it is one of those things where all aspects of my life at the moment are very busy and need a lot of work and time to be given to them and that is something I don’t seem to have at the moment. I just want some time where I can just sit and read and watch movies but it is not going to happen. This is one of the reasons why this blog post is so late again. Hopefully things will calm down in the coming weeks.

Thanks again for reading this blog post and I am sorry for the delay again.

Top Programme of the Week – The Great British Bake Off

Top Song of the Week – Dolly Parton & Kenny Rogers – You Can’t Make Old Friends

Book I Am Currently Reading – Us by David Nicholls

