Welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing forgetting about my week off, library fines, Wear it Green Day and the arrival of My Geek Box. So let us begin.

Holidays are great but the benefits of having time off soon evaporate a couple of days being back at work. You always have so much to catch up on from e-mails to tasks that have been left for you on your return. Add to that the morning commute and that week off soon becomes distant memory. It is good to be back at work though as I have missed talking to some friends and colleagues at work. I had a tough start to the week but by the end of the week I was in a better place. Thankfully we now have Starbucks on campus so I can at least refuel when I flagging a bit and I was flagging this week.

This week at work I had someone surprised they had a library fine even though they knew it was 9 days overdue. Their reaction was “Are you kidding me?”. Resisted the urge to say “Does this face look like it’s kidding” and instead politely told them it was true and they had a fine. I really don’t understand why people think libraries should not have fines. It is possible not to get a library fine. Many people never get a library fine and use their library in a proper manner. A few weeks ago I talked about why I am in favour of library fines The problem is not really library fines it goes deeper than that. Libraries are a shared resource they are for everyone to use but this apparently is not what many library users think. They think it is for their use only and are genuinely shocked when someone else needs the book they have. It is then the libraries fault we don’t have a copy of each book for each user. When did society stop caring about each other?

On Friday at work we had a ‘Wear It Green Day’ to promote Environment week at work. In the past we have had Christmas jumper Day and Wear It Pink Day but this was the first Green Day. It was a bit of fun and hopefully it raised the profile of Environment Week at work. At first I thought it made us all look like Robin Hood and his Merry Men but later I thought it was more like we were working in the Emerald City so from this point I had songs from Wicked going around in my head.

This week I revised my delivery of ‘My Geek Box’. This is another company that sends a geeky hamper style box with a certain theme. I have been trying the three main companies over the last three months and now that I have had one from each I will be posting a review of them all in a blog hopefully sometime this week. So I won’t say too much about my box just now but I am giving you a heads up that there will be special blog post coming your way soon.

On the subject of blogging I thought it would be a good chance to ask if there are any topics you would like me to cover in a future special blog post. I can’t guarantee that I will use that topic but I do enjoy any involvement/ feedback from my readers so please get in touch. Next year this blog will be 5 years old and I think it would be great to have some suggestions for future blogs from you my readers. I know I am not a major blogger like some but I would like to improve my blogging so let me know. I hope to hear from you soon.

Well that is it for this week. I will hopefully have a special blog post ready during the week and I will be back agin next weekend for my weekly blog post. So until then it is bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Marvel Agents of Shield

Top Song of the Week – Michael Buble – That’s Life

Book I Am Currently Reading – Funny Girl by Nick Hornby

