Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing Movember, tax summary breakdown, Edinburgh, iPhone 6, Christmas shopping, Star Wars VII trailer, and my life. That is a quite a lot so I better get started.

Today is the last day of November which means the end of this years Movember campaign. This is where men grow a moustache to raise money and awareness of Prostate cancer and other male cancers. In recent years this has been a big thing and there has no escaping it. This year though I haven’t seen as many people taking part or have I? There is a lot of popularity for beards at the moment and I wonder if many men were taking part in Movember but because they already have a beard the shock factor is lost. I have a lot of respect for men with facial hair as I did grow a moustache last year for ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ and I hated it and was glad to get rid of it. I hope the campaign does continue and maybe gets a bit more profile again next year.

This week I received my firs tax summary breakdown. This is a new thing the Government are doing to show where taxes are going. The idea is good but I do wonder whether they could have put this information on their website instead of sending a colour letter out but there you go. I do find it interesting especially finding out that I only contribute £23 to the EU budget which I think is not bad at all so there you go Mr. Farage it doesn’t cost much at all. It is a shame though we can’t protease where we want our tax to go. I don’t mean the four big areas ‘welfare, education health, state pension’ but maybe change the priority of the other areas. It won’t happen but it would be a nice idea.

This week with work I went to Edinburgh. It was just for the day so it was a lot of travelling but really useful. It was another chance to improve my network skills which have been getting better. It was great to meet some new people as well as catch up with some familiar faces too. I was asked for a business card a couple of times which is something that I don’t have but maybe I need to think about that for the future. One of the things I want to do next year is move towards chartership and I bet this requires a lot more networking events and maybe business card would be useful. I never thought of librarianship as being a profession where business cards were used but maybe I’m wrong. Any librarians reading this let me know what your experience is. As well as this it was nice to be in Edinburgh again. It is a beautiful city and definitely a place that I could live and work.

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I had got a new iPhone. Well this week I had a little scare as it wouldn’t switch on one day. it had battery I knew that but despite lots of efforts nothing seemed to happen. I tried phoning the help line but I was just in queue. So I tried the online message system and I was able to sort the problem there. This was a huge relief as it meant that I didn’t have to spend ages in the genius bar in an Apple store.

This weekend I braved the Metrocentre and started Christmas shopping. It wasn’t as busy as I thought it would be and I did get a lot of stuff done. I am feeling quite organised for Christmas this year. All my cards are bought, I have started my shopping, Christmas music is on my iPod, I have bought a new Christmas jumper and this is all in November. I am usually a lot further behind than this at this stage. I hope this organised me lasts a bit longer. I am embracing Christmas this year although I am not going to Christmas parties this year. This feels a bit odd as I always go to a Christmas party but this year I am having a year off from the party.

On Friday the first trailer for Star Wars VII was released and I have to admit it looks good and I am now expecting a great film. The stand out thing for me was certainly the new light saber but who does it belong too? Am I right in thinking it is Benedict Cumberbatch doing the voice on the trailer? If so does this mean he is going to be in the movie and if so who is he? I can see him as a new Sith Master. So many questions but I suppose they will all be answered in 12 months time.

After Lewis Hamilton won the Formula One World Championship last weekend one commentator said “he is in a good place right”. This is a phrase we often hear but what does it mean really? We all have good things happening at the same time as not so good things but at what point is it that our lives are in a good place? I have tried to answer it and I can’t come up with a definitive answer. Maybe it means financial security or being in love, family, friends, successful career, good health or maybe a combination of them all.   It has made me look at my life though and ask whether it is in a good place or not. I know I am not living the lifestyle of a F1 driver but that doesn’t mean things are not good. I think the answer to this is “it’s not bad but needs more work” maybe this could be my Facebook status update for this year. Maybe when I review my year at the end of December I will have a better idea of where I am. I know some boxes are still unticked but at least I have something to work towards.

Well that is it for this week. I had hoped to have finished my review of my Geek box subscriptions but I haven’t quite done that yet. Hopefully it will be done this week. Before I go I mentioned a few weeks a go that I did a bit of an interview with someone for their blog about my blog. He has now published it so here is the link if you fancy reading it then visit his blog at http://tq-c.blogspot.co.uk/2014/11/issue-01-november-december-2014.html

Thanks for reading and I will be back next week with another blog post or maybe two.

Top Programme of the Week – Gotham

Top Song of the Week – Olly Murs – Wrapped UP

Book I Am Currently Reading – Funny Girl by Nick Hornby

