Hello everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. I hope you have all settled back into the weekly routine without too much hassle. In this weeks blog post I will be discussing January blues, a worrying train announcement, windy weather and the film Into The Woods. So let’s get started.

Before I start discussing the items I have just mentioned I want to try and make something clear about a phrase I often hear with regards a guy when he comes out and really gets to me. I’m sure you have all heard it as well and it is the phrase “What a waste”. Ouch!! Lets stop and think about that. That famous guy who has just come out was a)very unlikely to date you even if he was straight b)it is not a waste for the gay guy he meets. When I have heard it said the person has genuinely not meant offence but to a gay guy it is hurtful. The word waste implies ‘weakness’, ‘something you would discard’ and that is nothing to do with being gay. OK mini rant over with.

Now that we are 11 days into January those January blues are starting to kick in. The decorations are all down and everything looks bare, the cupboards are full of Christmas food but you have just been on the scales for the first time in weeks and you need to start that diet now, you are back at work and the few weeks off now seem a like last year, add to that dark mornings and evenings, the monthly bills starting to arrive and it does start to get you down. That’s why we all book holidays at this time of the year as we all want something to look forward to. A lot of people think I must like January because it’s my birthday this month but the reality is no in fact it adds to the gloominess of the month. It is a good idea though to book something so that you have something to look forward to. Whether this is a holiday or theatre/concert ticket it doesn’t matter. It helps fill out that new diary you have which is looking a bit empty. I have booked some theatre tickets so I have something to look forward to and I have my monthly Geek  box due to arrive in the middle of the month and I suppose there is always a chance my birthday will actually be OK. Hopefully this will help see me through January. On second thoughts I am not sure thats better as I hate February even more. Oh well.

Regular readers of my blog will know I often mention the joys of commuting by train. This week I got on the train to go home. It was a couple of minutes late but to a train commuter thats basically on time so I didn’t think anything of it. I manage to get a seat and the train starts to move. Then there is a train announcement and he train guard says he is sorry about the delay to the journey but there was a problem with the emergency brake but it is now fixed. However if it does happen again on the journey we are not too worry. I know he was trying to deliver good customer service but sometimes the customer doesn’t really want to hear the truth especially when I am now on the train which is moving. this announcement may have been better at the station before I got on the train. Thankfully everything seemed to be OK and made it home safe.

The weather this week has been very wintry and we have had a lot of strong winds on an evening. Our bins keep get blown over and the following morning we have to go out and find the various parts of the recycle bin and pick up the papers etc. One night I was in bed and I heard the bin get blown over. I could see it was the recycle bin and the inside box was being blown down the street. It was 12:30 but I got dressed and went out and picked it up and brought the smaller box inside. I tried to get some of the papers but they blowing around too much and it looked like I was in a cheap version of either the Crystal Maze or the Grab a Grand box from Noel’s House Party. We picked the papers up the next day. I felt I should have learnt some man points from this action.

This weekend I went to the cinema for the first time this year. I went to see ‘Into The Woods’ which is  Stephen Sondheim musical about well-known fairy tales and what happens after the happy ever after. I am not usually a fan of Stephen Sondheim musicals as they are a bit too musical and border on operetta. However I quite enjoyed this film. It had some great performances especially from Meryl Streep, Emily Blunt and Anna Kendrick. It was visually stunning and the music was good as well. I have never seen it on stage so I don’t know if it usually darker than the film portrayed but it certainly could have been darker in parts. At one point though Meryl Streep did look more like a drag queen instead of a glamorous witch but I can live with that. James Corden was OK in the film and I have a love/hate thing with him. Sometimes I really dislike him but other times I think he isn’t that bad. I think on this occasion he falls into the he isn’t that bad category. I did find the scene where the two princes are singing ‘Agony’ and are rolling around in the river ripping their shirts open quite amusing and quite pleasing, well it’s a musical it has to be a bit camp. Overall I would give the film 3.5/5. It’s worth a watch but if you dislike musicals which sing everything then you might find it a bit too much. A word of warning if you are playing a drinking game when ever someone says ‘Into The Woods’ you will probably not remember anything after 20 minutes.

Well that is it for this week. Thank you for reading this weeks post. I will be back again next week with another weekly roundup of my life and thoughts. So until then bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Broadchurch

Top Song of the Week – Pride – The Seeds You Sow

Book I Am Currently Reading – We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

