Hi everyone and welcome once again to my weekly blog post. This week I will be discussing Virgin trains, World Book Day, The UK’s Eurovision entry, and my need for a break. So let us start.

This week was the first week of my commute using Virgin trains since they took over the running of the East Coast line. I don’t know what I was expecting but it was no difference really. It is exactly the same train as before although it now has the Virgin logo at the front and back of train it is the same. Even the staff have the old uniforms with just a Virgin lanyard. I don’t know what I was expecting so early on but thought it would be a bigger change at the start. I guess there will be changes over the coming months. My train home on Tuesday evening had power problems and the train was stuck for about 20 minutes on the Durham viaduct. The announcer on the train didn’t reassure passengers as they said “they didn’t know what was wrong and couldn’t contact the driver as he had left the train”. Whatever mode of transport you are travelling on the one thing you do not want to hear as a passenger is that the driver has left the transport you are on. Just after this announcement I then see the driver walk past the window. He had obviously left the train to see what the problem was but that was mentioned in the announcement and resulted in a lot of concerned passengers. The problem was fixed and we carried on with the journey. I hope there are no more delays like this on my commute.

On Thursday it was World Book Day. This is mainly for children and many schools have special days where children go to school dressed as a character from a book. This is a great idea and I wish it had happened while I was at school I would have loved it. I probably would have gone as Peter from ‘The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe’ or possibly Robin Hood. It is worrying though that many went dressed up as characters from films instead of books. I suppose that is why they have World Book Day, to remind children the importance of books.

Yesterday the UK’s entry for this Eurovision Song Contest was revealed. It is an act called Electro Velvet and the song is called ‘Still In Love With You’.

It has a Charleston feel to it and is quite catchy and could work. My concern is that it would be impressive on stage with a large number of dancers however Eurovision rules say there must be no more than 6 people on stage. Electro Velvet are duo so that’s 2 people, then there will be a couple of backing singers, then 2 dancers? Not as impressive as a large group of people dancing. The last time the UK entered a duo we got 0 points. Let’s hope this year we do better than that. What do you think of the song?

I have never been so glad to see the weekend than I was this weekend. Events of the last month or so have caught up with me and I feel shattered. I mentioned last week that my mum was ill. Thank you to everyone who has asked how she is. She is doing ok and is a lot better than she was. I think my Dad is getting the infection now though but won’t rest as he feels he has to look after my mum and he won’t let me do anything. Sometimes being an only child really sucks. I’m trying to help but keep getting told not to worry. That’s easier said than done when you have parents awake all night coughing but still insist they are fine. As I couldn’t sleep I started watching House of Cards which I am now addicted to. Hopefully my parents will both be better soon and I can then rest.

I feel totally drained of energy and enthusiasm at the moment. I’m a bit like the Virgin train earlier in the week I have a loss of power and my driver has left me stranded. All my plans for this year have just been pushed to one side and I can only focus on each day as it come at the moment. I think I have nothing to focus on and that might be one of my problems. I have booked time off work at the start of April which will be nice. I really could do with a couple of days away from everything but not sure how feasible that is at the moment. I feel old and tired and I am only 34 I should be more energised than this. Instead I am dealing with a surge in grey hairs and I just want to sleep.

Well that is it for this week. Thank you reading and I will be back again next weekend.

 

Top Programme of the Week – The Musketeers

Top Song of the Week – Killian Donnelly & Beverley Knight – Steal Your Rock ‘n’ Roll

Book I Am Currently Reading – Barracuda by Christos Tsiolkas

