Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. First of all Happy Mothers Day to all the mum’s (Mam’s if your from the North East) especially if it is your first Mothers Day as a mother. I hope you all have had a good day. In this weeks blog post I will be discussing House of Cards, Comic Relief, a not so express Vision Express, my verdict on Russell T Davies series ‘Cucumber’, Banana’ and ‘Tofu’ and is 34 the happiest I will ever be? So let’s get started.

I mentioned last week that I had started watching ‘House of Cards’ on Netflix and that I was a bit obsessed with it. This has continued this week and my rule of not watching TV/DVD in bed has now gone out of the window and I am watching at least one episode once I have gone to bed. It such a good show and it is rare for me to want to binge watch a show like this. I am still on Season 1 at the moment but I would recommend people give it a try if you haven’t already.

While on the subject of TV shows I think it is time for me to give my verdict on the 3 shows that have been created by Russell T Davies over the last 8 weeks. These are ‘Cucumber’, ‘Banana’ and ‘Tofu’. ‘Cucumber’ is the main show and ‘Banana’ is a separate show focusing on different characters each week, all of these characters do feature at some point in ‘Cucumber’. ‘Tofu’ is only online and is a series of short interviews with people about subjects such as sex, dating etc. The idea is that you watch all 3 and by doing so it adds to the experience. It is fair to say these shows have divided opinion particularly in the LGBT community. There are very few shows on TV that have main characters that are gay. So with the announcement by Russell T Davies that he was doing another show about the LGBT community there were huge expectations from everyone. Back in 1999 ‘Queer as Folk’ broke boundaries ands the first show to really reach out to the LGBT community. I remember secretly watching the show in my room with one headphone in my ear and the other listening out for my parents. I am sure I wasn’t the only person doing this. It was the first time that I had really questioned my sexuality and here was a TV show telling me all about it. A lot has happened since 1999 and the latest shows by Russell T Davies were his attempt to address this and look at different generations of the LGBT community and how they are dealing with stuff in 2015. This is a big and complex thing to do in just eight weeks and that is why the spin-off shows were needed as well. Did it work? Well I think it did. Yes it didn’t represent all the LGBT community but that is impossible. Does ‘Coronation Street’ represent everyday Manchester? Of course not but there are parts that are similar but hopefully with less deaths. The thing for me that Russell T Davies nailed was how the older generation still find it hard at times to just be gay. By older I mean 30’s onwards and that is because if you were around in the 80’s you knew how bad/tough it was to be gay and is the reason why many came out late in life. Now the younger generation think nothing about sexuality it really is no big deal and that is what Russell T Davies got right. Sorry to spoil the ending but at the end of the last episode of ‘Cucumber’ Henry says he wants time to sit and think. When asked what about he says being gay. To hear this was a relief as I am sure I am not the only gay guy who has wanted to get used to his sexuality. I am proud to be gay but it is tough at times and that is what the show tried to get across. Overall I preferred the series ‘Banana’ as it tackled issues very well and were often more dramatic and emotional than ‘Cucumber’. I would also recommend ‘Tofu’ to anyone who is questioning their sexuality or want some questions answered about sex and sexuality. I really wish I had seen this series of shows when I was younger. I know it is unlikely Russell T Davies will read this but if by some miracle he does then I want to say thank you for producing these shows they made realise that I am not alone and those fears I have so does everyone else. Did you watch any of the shows? If so let me know what you thought of them.

On Friday it was ‘Comic Relief’ and of course I donated to the fundraising appeal and bought my red nose and settled down to watch the TV show. My Comic Relief selfie 2015For some reason though the show lacked emotion. There were only a few appeal films and some of them were old ones from previous years. Even the sketches seems less than normal and I worry that it is due to the lack of funding from the BBC. I felt the same last year about ‘Children in Need’ which makes me think it is something to do with the production by the BBC. At the end of the day it is a great cause and it will always have huge support but I hope it can go back to being the big show that it used to be.

I had hoped that in this weeks blog post I would be able to show off my new glasses. Sadly despite it being 2 weeks since I paid for them they have yet to arrive. I was told it would be 3 weeks but I thought that was for Vision Express to cover themselves but they would turn up in a week. Apparently not and when I asked over the phone if they were ready I was told quite firmly “they would ring me when they were ready” basically I had to stop asking them and wait until I was told. I remember the days when Vision Express made your glasses in the hour now it takes 3 weeks. I don’t call that very express. Well they have until next Saturday and then if they haven’t arrived I am asking for my money back. I will let you know what happens next week.

This week results from a poll were published saying that the happiest year of your life is when you are 34. This is because people are usually settled in their work and often in a stable relationship. As a 34-year-old I don’t know how I feel about this. Should I feel excited that this is to be the happiest year of my life or be depressed that this is as good as it gets. I really hope that I have happier years than this still to come.

This poll did get me thinking though about my plans and dreams for this year. We are almost three months into the year and so far my life is still the same as it was on 31st December 2014 and I have to start making more of an effort to change things. Those resolutions and things on my bucket list aren’t just going to happen so I have to start doing something about them.

Well that is it for this week. Thank you once again for taking the time to read this blog post. It means a lot.

Top Programme of the Week – Cucumber

Top Song of the Week – Nicki Minaj – Starships

Book I Am Currently Reading – Barracuda by Christos Tsiolkas

