Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing the eclipse, Starbucks and my new glasses. So let’s get started.

Regular readers of my blog will know that I am a frequent visitor to Starbucks. During the week it is the Durham branch and on a weekend it is the Darlington branch. The staff are brilliant in both stores. This week though there was a merging of the two. I don’t mean they are one store but there was a cross over of staff so when I visited the Durham store this week there was one of the Darlington Baristas there.I noticed as soon as I walked in the store and he noticed me too and we seemed to be sceptical of each other and were probably asking ourselves the question “what is he doing here?” Of course he is there working and I am there as a customer but it was an odd experience. I wasn’t starting to feel a bit guilty as if he had discovered that I had been cheating on the Darlington store. He even asked why I was in Durham and I explained I work there and that is why I use the Durham branch but on a weekend  it is the Darlington branch. He then served me my drink and I went on my way. The next day it was the usual staff but one of them mentioned the incident the day before and said the same barista was due in later that day. This barista was not in the day before so it must have been some sort of talking point with them as well. I am not sure if this is a case of being too familiar or a blurring of boundaries.

I mentioned last week that I was waiting for my new glasses to arrive. They said up to 3 weeks but I still I didn’t expect it to take 3 weeks. Anyway I was already to go in on Saturday and ask what was going on when I get a message on Friday saying they ere finally ready to collect. So I picked them up on Saturday and I am pleased with them. me in my new glassesThey are different to my last pair and are still quite shiny and new. I still can’t believe it took 3 weeks to do them but there you go. They have arrived so I can now see and have a new look at the same time. I may even think about contact lenses as well. I have had them before and there are times they may be useful. I will think about it.

This week it was also the partial eclipse. I was at work but we were able to go out and have a look at it. Thankfully for us the clouds lifted enough for us to see it.Partial eclipse 2015 It was really interesting to see so many people stood outside looking up at the sky watching the event. Some were very good and had glasses or homemade projectors but let’s be honest most of us just looked up even though you are told not to. It is a remarkable event though. Although not a total eclipse it was about 92% covered and it did get darker  and very cold all of a sudden. I remember watching the eclipse in 1999. I was also working in a library then but as a summer job before uni and did not think the next time I saw an eclipse I would be working in library. It was a truly special experience and is a reminder about how amazing the solar system is.

Well that is it for this week. Thank you again for reading this. I will be back again next week with another blog post (maybe even 2). Take care.

 

Minor Celeb Spot: The Moffatt Family from Gogglebox

 

Top Programme of the Week – The Musketeers

Top Song of the Week – Madonna – Rebel Heart

Book I Am Currently Reading – Barracuda by Christos Tsiolkas

