Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing InspirApril, rereading old texts and Facebook messages, barista bromance split, Game of Thrones (no spoilers though), running on autopilot, the new Star Wars trailer, new glasses and a trip to the theatre. So lots to get through so let’s get started.

For my followers on Instagram you will know that I have been taking part in the InspirApril challenge. This is where I post a picture day. Each day there is a different theme. Please do check them out on my Instagram (the link is on this blog). I am over half way through and I am finding it really good fun to do but t the same time it is making me look at myself and my life and making me realise I need to do more with it as I struggle with some themes such as ‘I Feel Good When’, ‘Opportunity’, ‘My Goal’ etc.I suppose one of the ideas behind the challenge is to make you look at your life and inspire you to make changes. Yesterday I took some time out to mind map all the areas of my life and the things that are going on in them. It was scary to see so much on the paper and is no wonder I feel stretched in various directions. I found the exercise useful and it made see what is important and what is more of a distraction. Some of the distractions I am committed to for a while but they are not long-term. The area I need to focus on the most is my self-confidence as it underpins many other aspects of my life. So hopefully this is the start of me taking control of my life instead of running on autopilot.

I say that I am running on autopilot as that is what it feels like. Don’t get me wrong I like routine but I need to start living my life as well and coast along. That’s why I did the mind map because I wanted to look at what was going on in my life an re-evaluate things in it.

As part of the InspirApril challenge I have found myself look back through old photos and messages on Facebook and rereading old text messages. Yes some of them are a bit cringe worthy but I rediscovered some really great messages from friends and family. Those messages were so helpful to me back then but they still have that power now. That’s why it is so important to get in touch with someone you know is struggling. It might only be s simple message but it means a lot to them then and will stay with them for years to come. After reading this blog please reread your texts and Facebook messages. It might prompt you to get in touch with someone you have lost touch with or remind you of the important people in your life.

In a previous blog post I talked of my sort of bromance with the barista in Starbucks. Well it’s over as he has left and moved away. It was just by chance that I discovered this. I don’t normally have coffee on an evening but I had a rehearsal straight after work so I called in for a coffee and he was on. He mentioned then that the next day was his last day. He was moving to London and having a change of career. It’s great for him as he his a great guy and deserves this but I admit I am little bit sad as he was one of my favourites. He is straight so its nothing like that but I enjoyed chats with him on a  morning about Batman, football, movies etc. That’s not going to happen now and that is sad. He said he would see me the next day but he wasn’t on n the morning so that evening was the last time and I didn’t get to wish him good luck properly. So that is it my bromance is over and it is time to move on.

This week it was the start of season 5 of Game of Thrones. I was a bit late getting into this series but caught up last year through DVD’s and iTunes as I don’t have Sky. Well this time though I have Now TV which means I can watch it live on my laptop. I am no longer the outsider at work. What I mean by this is that I don’t have to leave the staff room or start listening to music when someone starts talking about Game of Thrones. I don’t blame people as you naturally want to talk about it but you sometimes forget that everyone is at a different stage. I think should all have stickers saying which episode we are all up to so we don’t spoil it for anyone. I’m sure there are many offices that are in the same position.

This week the new trailer for the next Star Wars movie was released. When I heard Disney were making this film I was a little nervous (I still haven’t forgiven them for the first 2 Narnia films). However the teaser trailer from a few months ago was enough to give me new hope.

The opening scene in this trailer is enough to make me be excited. I now have so many questions about the new movie. Will the Empire strike back and which Jedi have returned? No doubt there will be more teasers over the coming months before the release in December. I can’t wait.

On Saturday I picked up my new glasses from Specsavers. They were ready in 1 week and so far so good I still have to see how they are at work as that was where I had the biggest problem last time. I will let you know next week how they are going. Fingers crossed they will be ok this time.

As well as getting my new glasses on Saturday I decided last-minute to go to the theatre. I was wanting day where I treated myself and had time for me so I went to see the RSC’s ‘A Mad World My Masters’. I had no real expectations and I really enjoyed it. The cast were brilliant and to show my appreciation like many others on the night I stood to give them a standing ovation during the curtain call. There a few stood up and I joined them. As I did I felt a sharp tug on my shirt. I looked round and it was the woman behind the chair next to me. I was so mad! I wasn’t obscuring her view and a large number of people were stood applauding. It is what yu do at the theatre at the end if you have enjoyed the show. I did sit down however not out of respect for her but out of respect to the theatre and the performers. When I did stand to get my coat and turned and glared at her while I waited until the row emptied for me to leave. She just looked away. I had sat through the show without causing any fuss. I wasn’t eating, coughing, drinking or talking unlike the woman behind me or the woman next to me who just dropped all her sweet wrappers and ice cream tubs on the floor instead of putting them in the bin or her bag. However I seemed to be the one told off. To the cast of the show if by any chance you are reading this I am sorry I didn’t stand for the ovation you deserved. As for the woman who told me to sit she needs to learn how to behave at the theatre. It’s not the first time that I have experienced hostility or a reluctance to give a standing ovation. Darlington Civic theatre is a lovely theatre but it is the one place where it is rare for a standing ovation to take place . Even in the West End I have seen shows where people have appeared to feel awkward about giving a standing ovation. Maybe there is a bigger issue here. People need to learn to love theatre again and more importantly how to behave. So next time you go to the theatre and you seem something you really enjoyed show your appreciation by giving a standing ovation and if anyone behind moans ignore them as thats what I am going to do next time.

On that note I will bid you farewell until next week. I am sorry it is a bit late this week, I will try harder next week.

Top Programme of the Week – Game of Thrones

Top Song of the Week – Whitney Houston – I Wanna Dance With Somebody

Book I Am Currently Reading – The Traitor’s Mark by D.K. Wilson

