Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing having some time for myself, Dr Who Symphonic Spectacular, Durham Pride and my Dad. This blog is late already so I better get started.

I had a short week at work this week. This was because it was a Bank Holiday and I had two days annual leave on Thursday and Friday. It was quite nice to have the time off and it did do me a a lot of good.

At the moment I have so much going on. I’m very busy at work, I’m in 2 plays and have 3 rehearsals a week, as a family we are all stressed waiting to hear about my Dad’s illness (more on that later), and in the remaining time I have to look after myself and my wellbeing. It is fair to say I have been feeling physically and emotionally tired so this last week has helped a bit with this but I am struggling to keep it together. I know other people have lots going on as well but I feel I need to explain to people who know me why I am not my usual self. So if I am sat on my own and not talking it’s not because I’m being rude it’s just me trying to hold it together.

On Thursday I went to Newcastle to see the Dr Who Symphonic Spectacular at the arena. I booked it last year and I was really looking forward to it. I booked the matinée as I wasn’t sure how easy it was going to be to get back. However in the end I decided to stay over anyway as it was a good excuse to have a break away from everything. The concert was good and featured monsters from the show, and of course the brilliant music by Murray Gold and the BBC National Orchestra of Wales conducted by Ben Foster. The host for the show was Peter Davison (Fifth Doctor). A few years ago I saw a similar concert on TV as part of the BBC Proms and was expecting the same. It was similar but not quite the same. I have to admit I was a little disappointed as it was not the spectacular it should have been. This might have been down to the fact that arena was not even half full so there was no real atmosphere. Also because of the Proms version I had seen on TV I expected monsters to be going up and down the stairs in the audience (obviously not Daleks). I saw 2 monsters on stairs and that was it and it just made it feel like the arena was too big for the show. I understand the evening performance was really good and busier but I can only go on what I saw. It was still good but it could have and should have been more impressive than it was.

I was pleased to be staying over in Newcastle as it meant I had night where I could switch off from everything in my life and it was really good also the hotel had a bath and at home I only have a shower so that was a nice little treat. The only downside is that I want more time off like this but can’t see it happening for a while.

On Sunday it was Durham Pride. This was the second time that the event had been held but the first time there was a Pride Parade in Durham. The support and turnout for the Parade was amazing. People of all ages, gender, sexuality, race, religion were there to celebrate. The weather might not have been the best but we all forgot about it and just soaked up the atmosphere. The organisers of the event should be so pleased with their achievements. Durham has gone from not having any gay scene two years ago to having regular nights at local bars and an annual Pride event which just gets bigger every year. A huge achievement and makes me proud to be associated with the city.

Ok the final thing is my Dad. This tough to talk about but I know lots of you who know me have questions. Some of you I have told and some no a little so this is me telling what I know at the moment. On 13th May my Dad was told he has cancer of the gullet also know as cancer of the oesophagus. It was found in a routine check up and has turned our lives upside down. He is being referred to a consultant but at the moment we have no date for this so don’t know what treatment options he has and have a million and one questions to ask. We are just living one day at a time and everything is up in the air. We can’t plan things or commit to much as we don’t know what is going to happen. I have delayed talking about on here because I had hoped for more information by now but it looks like it is a waiting game also actually saying what it is made it too real and it has taken a long time to accept it. So far he isn’t showing any of the main symptoms so the doctors and ourselves are hoping it is a good sign. We are all trying to keep strong but there are days when we can’t and it does get to us all. It goes without saying we know we have your support so you don’t need to say it. If you want to show your support just treat us all in the same way as before because showing sympathy is just too much for us to take. Please don’t be offended by this. Thank you so much for everything so far.

Well sorry to end on a downer. I will be back again next weekend with the latest blog post.

Top Programme of the Week – Game of Thrones

Top Song of the Week – Will Young – Promise Me

Book I Am Currently Reading – Moon Over Soho by Ben Aaronovitch

