Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing Game of Thrones(no spoilers though), The History Boys, the play, and professional development and social media use.

First a quick update on my Dad. He has had the results of his last scan back and the good news is that it hasn’t spread. He is due to hear this week when his appointment with the oncologist will be and then treatments will be discussed. Still a long way to go but at least it is some positive news.

On Monday it was the Game of Thrones Season 5 finale. Now I am not going to say what happened because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t seen it but I do want to say something about it. It was a great finale to the season although as it was Game of Thrones it was at times uncomfortable viewing and there were a number of shocks. I think it is what they call ‘event TV’ as it gets you talking with friends and family and even makes the news. I like many other fans have lots more questions than answers and have to wait a year until the next season. 10 episodes in a season is just too short.

On Wednesday evening I went to see ‘The History Boys’ at Darlington Civic Theatre. I have to admit I have never seen see the play or the film before although I did know the story. I really enjoyed the show and it had such a talented cast. The role of Posner was played by Steven Roberts and this was his first theatre role. Up until now he has only been in Hollyoaks (which I haven’t seen for 4 years as it breaks the golden rule of turning 30 you must stop watching Hollyoaks). Despite being Hollyoaks he actually can act and stole the show. He is certainly one to watch for the future I think. There is a line in the play “Pass it on boys…that’s the game I wanted you to learn…pass it on” and this could apply to all of us. We all have something which we have to pass on to others to learn and it got me thinking what is it that I have to pass on to others and who to. If you get the chance to see the play I highly recommend you do.

The play is now very soon and I am freaking out a little bit about it. I think because I have so much going on in my head at the moment I am struggling to keep all my lines in my head. Merry Wives of WindsorHopefully it will be ok on the night and more importantly I hope the weather gets warmer not only for the cast but for everyone watching it. If you would like to come along then the show is taking place  2nd-4th July at 7pm and 5th July at 3pm at Darlington South Park near the Bandstand. Tickets are £7 and concessions £5 and are available from the Civic Theatre or on on the day in the Park (01325 486555). Feel free to bring a picnic and I hope to see you there.

This week I managed to find some time to think about professional development. Once the play is over I can start to look at Chartership as it is on my list of things to do this year. I also want improve my networking as well. In the last 12 months I have updated my LinkedIn account as I found that this is a good way to keep in contact with other library professionals that I meet. In the last week I have had a lot of requests to add me on LinkedIn and this is one of the prompts for me to think about my professional development. I would be interested to know what other social media platforms people use for professional networking. As well as LinkedIn I obviously have a twitter account but that is personal although it does have some professional contacts on there too. Should I use Twitter as well or should that be left separate? Let me know what think or do.

Well that is it for this week. Thanks again for reading and I hope to get back to my regular Sunday posting soon.

Top Programme of the Week – Game of Thrones

Top Song of the Week – Adam Lambert – The Original High

Book I Am Currently Reading – Moon Over Soho by Ben Aaronovitch

