Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing the dentist, Go Set A Watchman, Starbucks, and stuff to do with my Dad’s illness. So let’s get started.

It hasn’t been the best of weeks for me and my family. It started off badly for me as I had a visit to the dentist on Monday morning. I never used to have a problem of dentists but having had bad experience as a teenager involving braces and my previous dentist who was scary I have come to dread the visits. I had to go as I had a problem with a tooth and knew it would need either a filling or taking out. They decided to put a filling in but it was a deep filling so was a lot more painful than I expected. After they finished and said I could rinse my mouth out I realised I was shaking (that’s never happened at the dentist before). Hopefully the filling will work if not then I will have to have the tooth out. It has seemed ok all week although the last couple of days it has started hurt again. Fingers crossed it will settle down.

On Tuesday it was the release of the new Harper Lee novel ‘Go Set A Watchman’. Go Set A WatchamnI know the publication of this book has divided opinion on many levels but there is no escaping the fact it is the biggest event in publishing this year. I am only 100 pages into the book but so far I am enjoying it and it has the same feel about it as ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’. I won’t talk much about it now as I plan to write a review on this blog when I have finished it. It has been a long time since I have been so keen to read new book. Many bookshops opened up early so I was able to pick a copy up on my way to work.

As well as picking up a copy of ‘Go Set A Watchman’ on Tuesday morning I also had my daily coffee from Starbucks.  I really like it when I end up in a conversation with the baristas. Todays was about regular customers visiting other stores. They said they forget that their regulars also visit other Starbucks and that they become a bit possessive over them. The barista even told me that there is one customer they know who visits several different stores in the North East every day. What interested me in this conversation was how the staff noticed the customers. It also got me thinking about being a regular and which branch of Starbucks is my main one. I realised that it probably is the Durham branch as I visit 5 times a week but before thinking about it I would have just said Darlington as it is where I live. It just showed me that I might live in Darlington but spend very little time in the town.

I said at the start of this post that it has been a tough week for me and my family. The main reason is my Dad’s illness. We have struggled this week I hope we can focus on the positive things going to keep going.

Sadness from Inside Out
Sadness from Inside Out

This weekend it all got to me big style. I feel as if my life is just imploding at the moment and everything is up in the air and there is no way I can catch everything that is falling down and I know somethings will break. It sounds horrible to say but living at home isn’t helping me and it is turning into a pressure cooker. I can’t escape it and it is becoming quite suffocating. It is so bad that I dread the evenings and weekends because it is so hard to deal with being at home and just living in Darlington. I hoped I was stronger than this but at the moment it is taking every bit of strength I have not to break down. I really need some time away even for a couple of nights but not sure how possible this will be. Until I know a date for my Dad’s operation then it is near impossible to book anything. I know this sounds like I’m running away but all I need is to find a way to come up for air. Sorry for being so down but I feel I need to explain to people why I am not myself at the moment.

Well that is it for now. I’ll be back again next week with another post and hopefully this will be a bit happier.

 

Top Programme of the Week – The Outcast

Top Song of the Week – Years & Years – Worship

Book I Am Currently Reading – Go Set A Watchman – Harper Lee

