Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing my challenge to keep upbeat and plans on moving forward and the return of the Bake Off.

It has been a busy week. I finally got my review of ‘Go Set A Watchman’ done and I hope you have found it interesting. I would be interested to know what people of the book themselves. For any Radio 4 listeners out there I am informed it is the book at bedtime this week.

This week was the return of the Great British Bake Off. For the next 9 weeks I will be sat watching on a Wednesday night with my cup of tea and probably biscuit or cake. I love the show. It is a show about cake with two great presenters and baking royalty Mary Berry. I have to admit the who Paul Hollywood thing I don’t get but many do and he is what makes the show I suppose. The return of the cake off will mean I will start thinking about baking again. I can’t remember the last time I baked so I need to get started again.  I always say I won’t pick favourites straight away but I have. My prediction for the final 3 is Ugne, Sandy and Tamal. I would like Mat to make it as well. The reason for those three is because they seemed to be that they all had good rounds and showed some skill without being too outrageous. On a more shallow note the reason I include Tamal and Mat is I do find them both attractive. Shallow I know but I learnt over recent years that I do seem to take attractiveness as a factor when picking someone. When did I become so shallow.

In last weeks blog post I said that I was glad July was over and that I was going to be more upbeat this month. I hope I have managed to stick to this during the week but it has been tough. I have managed though and the reason why is that I have looked for the good things that are around me. Whenever things are bad I often focus on them and not look at the good things going on around me. I have some great friends and family and over the last few weeks a lot of people have taken time to chat and listen with me. This can’t have been easy as I haven’t been good to be around but thank you for sticking with me and taking that time. I hope to repay you back sometime. On Friday Frank Turner released his new album ‘Positive Songs for Negative People’ and I though it was very fitting that it was the same week that I was trying to be more upbeat. Since seeing Frank Turner at Leeds Festival I have been a fan of his music and one thing that I notice a lot in his music is how he encourages everyone to try to make the most of their lives. This new album is no different and with a title like that I just had to get it.

On Friday I also learnt that my Dad now has a provisional date for his operation. We still have some tests to come back but all being well it will be in a couple of weeks time. This is good news as we have all been waiting for so long but at the same time it is so soon and I would be lying if I said I wasn’t anxious. However it is good to have it earlier rather than later and hopefully he will make a swift recovery as well. It might mean staying upbeat this month is to prove more challenging but I will give it my best shot.

Thanks again everyone for taking the time to read this. I will be back again next weekend with another blog post. Until then bye for now.

Top Programme of the Week – Great British Bake Off

Top Song of the Week – Little Mix – Black Magic

Book I Am Currently Reading – Life After Lifer by Kate Atkinson

