Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing anniversaries and milestones, reading, children’s BBC and the Labour Leadership Contest. So let’s get started.

This week has seen a number of anniversaries and milestones. Some national events and some are personal and a lot closer to home. First up is HM The Queen becoming longest-serving Monarch in Great Britain. I feel that there should have been a bigger celebration of this milestone but The Queen saw it as another day on the job. I think sometimes we take the Queen for granted. She is always there and in these times of change is a reassuring presence. She is our most experienced politician and although we probably don’t know it she has probably made some big decisions about the future of the country but we are just not aware of. She is recognise all over the world and it is true that whenever you meet people from other countries they always ask if you have met Queen Elizabeth II. I haven’t met the Queen but I did see her on her Golden Jubilee tour.

Noo the little boy is not me.
No the little boy is not me.

I was at University at the time and went along to see her arrive. It was a special day and one I won’t forget. I was late for meeting some friends though for a project we were doing but hope they didn’t mind.

Another anniversary this week was on the 12th September. It was on this date 10 years ago that I started work at Durham University Library. 10 years is a long time working some where but I am lucky to work in a great place with some fab people. I know when I at university I wanted a job in media but fate has had other ideas and libraries are my love. I remember having a summer job at Darlington Town Library just before starting university and a member of staff there asked what I wanted to do. I told her I wanted to work in media. She then said no you will end up working in libraries. Once you have worked in a library you will come back to one. I remember politely saying I don’t think so but who knows. Well she obviously did as thats where I am. Looking back over my ten years so much has changed in the library but more importantly lots of things have changed within me. The job has allowed me to grow and be myself thanks largely down to some very good people who I am proud to call friends and not just colleagues. My job is very diverse and that is what I love about it. Will I still be there in 10 years? Who knows what the future holds I just hope the next 10 years whatever and wherever they take me are just as good.

Today was also the Great North Run and it brought back memories of when I did it 4 years ago. I really hope that I can do it again one year. It is still one of the biggest achievements I have done and I would like to give it another go sometime. Maybe when my life isn’t quite so crazy.

This week was also the 30th anniversary of Children’s BBC. The BBC did a special show with presenters from all the years starting with Philip Schofield. It was such a  great trip down memory lane with the Philip Schofield and Gordon the Gopher, Simon Parkin, Andy Crane and Ed the Duck and Wilson the butler, Toby Anstis and Otis the Aardvark. Such good times and when they showed all the old logo’s I was instantly transported back to being a child sitting on my chair int he living room singing with my nanna along to ‘Around the World in Eighty Days with Willy Fog’ after she wrote in for one of the song sheets. There were so many good programmes as well. What did make me feel old though were when the mentioned e-mails, tweets they had received from current viewers saying their parents remember watching Andy Crane and Philip Schofield. It’s not the same now that there is a whole channel for Children’s BBC. I know it means there is more choice but there was something good about it being on at certain time.

I finally finished reading ‘Life After Life’ by Kate Atkinson this week. I really struggled with it and it isn’t the first book that I have felt like this about this year. So far I haven’t been in a reading mood. Maybe because there is so much going on in my life I just don’t have the time. I feel that finding the time to read is quite a luxuriant I don;t always get the chance. I don’t know. what it is but I hope to get back into it soon.

Finally the result of the Labour Leadership Contest was announced this week. It wasn’t a surprise that Jeremy Corbyn won as all the signs seemed to be pointing that way. I can’t say that it is the result I wanted (my vote went to Yvette Cooper) but it is what the members and supporters have voted for so I accept it. I am not going to quit the party but will voice my opinion on topics if I feel strongly about them. The Labour Party is more than just one person if that one person is the leader. I hope Jeremy Corbyn learns from recent past leaders and listens all parts of the party. The left were excluded and almost forced out under recent leaders and that shouldn’t have happened. If this happens to those in the centre and the right of the Party then that would be just as bad. I really hope the Party can come together. I also hope that Jeremy Corbyn can prove me wrong and show he is the right leader.

So it has been a busy and emotional and reflective week for me. I think reaching 10 years in my job has made me think what I want to do in the next 10 years not just with my career but personal life as well. Things at home might not be great at the moment but I have to keep positive and start making changes for me and not let things pass me by.  See you all next week.

Top Programme of the Week – Great British Bake Off

Top Song of the Week – Madonna – Iconic

Book I Am Currently Reading – The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins

