Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. This week I will be discussing the waiting wall, dreaming of New York, Still Life, the new Bond song and Strictly Come Dancing. So let’s get started.

I read in the news this week about Brighton train station and a piece of work that is installed there. It is called the Waiting Wall and passengers waiting at the station can tweet/message it anonymously with their secrets or something that is on their mind. It’s not a new idea but I do think it is a good thing to do and could really help some people. We either think we know what is going on in someones mind or just turn away as we don’t want to know. It sounds harsh but we have all done it and when we learn years later that we could have helped or certain events in the past make sense all of a sudden we feel a bit if guilt and sadness. The installation is due to finish soon but it would be nice to see it happen elsewhere. As someone who travels by train a lot I know that it is a good time to think about things. I find myself reflecting on things happening in my life, planning things etc. Sometimes you need to release all these thoughts and something as simple as tweeting or messaging could help. For passengers waiting around who see the wall are made to think of other people around themselves. How often do we do that? We might for friends or family but what about those people we pass each day?  This Waiting Wall has made me think about those around me on my commute more.

It is probably the lack of a holiday and time off but in the last week I have really been thinking about a trip to New York. Realistically it isn’t possible in the next 12 months (well not if I want to move out) but I have thought about what it would be like to be there. It didn’t help this week when I received an e-mail from someone in New York and it just got me dreaming of what it would be like to be there right now. I think I will set myself the challenge of going before I am 40 which is 5 years and 3 months. That is achievable I think.

The weeks are going over so quickly at the moment. In less than 2 weeks it is the first performance of the play that I am in. It is Still Life by Noel Coward and we are lucky to be performing it at Head of Steam in Darlington (Railway museum). I am looking forward to it even though it means that week will be a bit manic as it is also a very busy week at work. Still LifeAnyway it would be great if people come along to support the show. Performances are Friday 9th October & Saturday 10th October at 7:30pm.

The new James Bond theme was released on Friday. It is Sam Smith singing it this time and the song is called ‘Writings On The Wall’. It seems to have split opinions. Personally I think it is a very good Bond song but not a brilliant Bond song. I think Sam Smith has great vocals and he has certainly got the Bond theme and style but it lacks that extra something that makes it a stand out Bond theme. Also personally I like the Bond song to have the same title as the Bond film it is from. I think when it does this it works better with the film.

Finally this week Strictly Come Dancing is back. I do like Strictly and all the professional dancers. It got me thinking back to my childhood and Strictly is the new version of Gladiators. Lycra is involved still although the outfits are more sparkly in Strictly. The different dances are the same as the different challenges on Gladiators. Maybe I am over thinking this but I wanted to throw it out there. The start of Strictly also means the official countdown to Christmas has begun. It is scary how quick the year is going although it’s no secret that I want this year over with as soon as possible.

Well that is it for this week. Sorry for the delay in posting this blog but time seems to be slipping away from at the moment. I will try to get back on track next week.

 

Top Programme of the Week – Dr Who

Top Song of the Week – Queen – I Want To Break Free

Book I Am Currently Reading – The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

