Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post. I suppose it is now officially winter now that the clocks have gone back. Dark mornings on the way to work and dark on my way home. Oh the joys. Anyway this week I will be discussing  Downton Abbey (spoiler alert), the new Star Wars Trailer, work bake-off, Back to the Future Day, Dad’s operation. So lots to get through so settle back and I will get started.

Last weeks Downton Abbey was a bit of a shocker. So far this series has been a bit tame to say the least only kept amusing by the witty one liners from Dame Maggie. The hospital storyline is  dull and Mary getting interested in pig farming is not that believable. After weeks of Lord Grantham wincing in discomfort we finally know what the problem was as he projectile vomited blood all over the dining table in front of the future Prime Minister.  I know viewers were warned that it would contain some scenes we may find distressing but we don’t want that in Downton Abbey. Downton is time for a cup of tea and easy viewing. That scene was the second most distressing scene on TV this year I have seen (the most distressing was the scene with the golf club in Cucumber). As it is the last series as a viewer I want things to wrap up nicely for the characters. Especially those that have not had much luck such as Edith and Thomas. I hope the rest of the series (season for American readers) is not as distressing.

This week the latest Star Wars trailer was released and Star Wars fans everywhere have been very excited about it. Thankfully it doesn’t give too much away and certainly makes people ask questions such as where is Luke Skywalker? He is not on the poster either unless he is Kylo Ren. I don’t think he is the more I watch the trailer but is does make me wonder why is he not in any of the trailers and posters.

I was pleased to see Leia in the trailer. It is the first time we have seen her for the new movie. I am sure I am not alone hoping she gets to wield a lightsaber and if she does what colour would it be. I can’t wait to see the film and I will be watching all the movies leading up to it.

Staying with movies it was Back To The Future Day this week. The 21st October 2015 was the future from Back To The Future II. I loved the films as child in the 80’s (well maybe not the third  ones much). I haven’t seen the film for years so I thought it was only right that I watched it again on 21st October. It was a great and although it is sad that self tying trainers are not invented and we aren’t using hover boards it is still a great film. As Doc Brown says in this special message for Back To The Future Day the future is what you make it.

It got me thinking back to my trip to Florida 10 years ago when I one to Universal Studios and went on the Back To The Future Ride which was delayed starting due to someone struggling to fit into their seat. It wasn’t me by the way but I often think back to this when I hear Back To The Future.

At work this week we had our annual Work Bake Off. When it comes to cake it is fair to say librarians take it very seriously. The work bake-off is good fun but it is becoming more competitive. Last year I was joint second place and I was hoping to keep in top 3. Sadly It didn’t happen but that is my own fault as I have said before you will never win the Bake Off with a biscuit and that’s what I went for, actually they were Chocolate Mint Cookies to be exact but still it wasn’t strong enough to fight off multi layered rainbow cake, a white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake and a tear and share pizza bread.Chocolate Mint Cookies These three took the top 3 spots. Everyone got at least one vote which is always nice to hear so if you did vote for me thank you. I usually use a Mary Berry recipe but this year I went for a Nigella recipe. I did say I would buy her book if I got top 3 but I didn’t so sorry Nigella. However the mint chocolate glaze was gorgeous and I may use that for other cakes in the future. I need to practice my baking more I have never done this recipe before and I only did them because I wanted something quick, easy and looked tasty as I have a lot going on at the moment. I haven’t done much baking this year and I need to get back into it. Next years New Year resolutions are starting to look quite busy. If I try new recipes in the next 12 months I will be back fighting for next years Bake Off after all I was the only male contestant this year so I had to fly the flag for the male baker at work.

This week ahead is going to be a hectic one and I have the week off work. If all goes to plan then my Dad will have his operation this week. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t anxious but I also know that he needs the operation. I hope it isn’t delayed agin but if it is then it will be for his safety. As a family we want him to have it as none of us want to wait anymore (he was diagnosed back in May) but only if it is right for him to have it. I have been dreading getting a cold as I worry I will pass it on to him so when I started with cold symptoms this week I kept out-of-the-way. Hopefully it has worked but we will see. Me and my mam are lucky as we have amazing family around us who even though have their own things going on still want to help. It means a lot to us to know that. I just have to stay strong this week and if I dig down deep I know I can do this.

That is it for this week. All being well I will be back next weekend with my blog post but depending on other things it may be a little delayed.

Top Programme of the Week – Downton Abbey

Top Song of the Week –  Scouting For Girls – Bad Superman

Book I Am Currently Reading – The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

