Hi everyone and welcome to this weeks blog post (sorry it’s late again). This week I will be discussing Spectre, the end of Downton Abbey, Brave New World, Armistice Day, Will Young and Lumiere. So let’s get started.

Last Sunday I went to see Spectre at the cinema. I was looking forward to this film after the success of Skyfall and I was keen to see how the film would work following the events of Skyfall. I thought it worked well and it was an alright film but tried too hard. Like many films at the moment they made a big thing about referencing, acknowledging past films. I am not against this and if done well it can add to the film but I felt it wasn’t needed that much in Spectre. There were lots of different locations from around the world used which looks good but didn’t add much to the story. They should have taken to 1 or 2 locations. Another thing was that there were too many villains for this film which made it more complex with the plot. I liked that Moneypenny and Q have bigger roles in this movie and I hope that continues in the next film. I do get the feeling that this will be Daniel Craig’s last Bond movie (I could be wrong it’s just the feeling I get) and I think it might the right time for him to move on.  Like a lot of films that I have seen this year it was average.

Last Sunday was the last in the series of Downton Abbey (possible spoilers). We only have the Christmas special to go and then no more Downton. I will miss the show as it was perfect Sunday night viewing but everything has it’s time. I was pleased some storylines were wrapped up but I still want Thomas to be happy and for Edith to be happy as well. Let’s be honest most viewers don’t like Lady Mary even though we are meant to. I really hope the Christmas Special is a good one for Thomas and Edith.

On Tuesday I went to the theatre to see Brave New World. I had read the book as teenager when I used to go to drama class and we did a version of the book. It made me want to read the book which I did but at that age I didn’t really get the significance of the book. Now I am rereading it and understand it more so seeing it on stage only brought the message home even stronger.  I found it interesting that I first heard of the book through drama and now in my thirties I have gone back to doing some drama which has included ‘The Tempest’ which is referenced in the book ‘Brave New World’. Funny how these things happen isn’t it. This version of the book was very good with a great cast and very good staging. I have been to the theatre a lot this year and it has really helped me learn more about acting. Judi Dench said in an interview that the best advice she gives to anyone wanting to be an actor is “go to the theatre, see as much theatre as you can”. It sounds obvious but it makes sense. I am not the best at acting and I certainly won’t be making a career of it but I do want to get better so seeing new and exciting plays such as Brave New World will help with that.

On Wednesday it was Armistice Day. I was off work that day and was in town at 11am when the two-minute silence happened. I was in the shopping centre and they had some performing the Last Salute. Everyone stopped and paid their respects. There is something moving about stopping to mark this occasion. There is a fear we will start to forget to remember and I hope we never do forget. We can all spare 2 minutes in our lives once  year to remember those who have been injured or killed to protect us. While I was stood there I started thinking that maybe we should all find time to stop and reflect on things in our own lives more often as well.

On Wednesday night I went to see Will Young in concert in Newcastle. I have never been to see him live before. Will Young at Newcastle City HallThe concert was at Newcastle City Hall which is a great building but the seats are not designed for anyone tall. Thankfully at times I was able to get up and dance and stretch my legs. The support act was Lemar who was also very good and was a surprise as i am used to support acts that I have never heard of before. It was interesting that this concert was exactly a year since I saw Kylie at Newcastle. I will have to find someone to see next November 11th. Will Young didn’t disappoint and put on a great show performing old and new hits. The stand out song he performed was ‘Who Am I’ which nearly had me in tears. Such beautiful song. A few years ago I read his autobiography and he seemed to be in an unhappy place in his life. Now he seems much happier and positive about life and this is reflected in his new songs. It is reassuring to know as we all have bad times and hope things will improve and this reminds me they can.

After the concert I was staying over in Newcastle. It was planned before my Dad’s operation and although I felt guilty having the night away I think it did me some good. I had planned originally on 2 nights but I changed it to 1 after my Dad had his operation. 2 nights for myself like that would have been a bit selfish.

On Thursday night I went to Durham for the Lumiere Festival. It is the third time that it has been held in the city and it is always a great experience. This year it was more city centre focused which was OK but I think it would have been good to have a little bit more further out as well. My favourite piece has to be inside the Cathedral and was called ‘Complex Meshes’.Complex meshes I could have sat there for hours just watching it move. It was stunning. Other highlights were ‘Mysticete’ which was a 3D whale in the river Wear and a replica of the Rose Window in the Cathedral made from bottles and a display which took a picture/video of you and displayed it in a jar. me in a glass jarIt is great that such a good event comes to the North East not only because it shows how great the city is but it allows people to discover new parts of the city. I work there and always discover new areas of the city because of Lumiere. There is also something quite relaxing walking around looking at light or maybe that is just my current reflective mood talking. Overall it was a great event and I hope it comes back in another 2 years time.

So that was my week. A rather busy one but  after everything that has happened recently I think it was needed. Dad by the way is doing well still so hopefully he continue like this.

With having some time off last week it made me realise how close to the end of the year we are which is good as 2015 has been a bad year for my family but also means I am starting to think about 2016 and what I want to achieve and where I want to be in all areas of my life. Still got time before making decisions though. Recent events in the news and personal life have really made think about things. I will be 35 in January and I need to get myself back on track.

Top Programme of the Week – Downton Abbey

Top Song of the Week – Will Young – U Think I’m Sexy

Book I Am Currently Reading – Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

